Charles Atnip Realty & Auction


UCHRA Seeks Community Input Through Community Needs Assessment

July 17, 2020

The Upper Cumberland Human Resource Agency (UCHRA) is seeking community input from all 14-counties of the Upper Cumberland region as part of the annual Community Needs Assessment.

Now through the end of the month of July, UCHRA will be asking citizens, stakeholders, and community partners to complete a brief, anonymous survey. The survey lists nine questions tailored to determine what community members see as the biggest needs within the community; including the identification of any service gaps and identifying populations within the community that have unmet needs that UCHRA could assist with. The survey also provides an opportunity for respondents to provide additional information.

“The surveys are a very important part of the Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) and we utilize that information to complete a required needs assessment for CSBG,” said LaNelle Godsey, Community Services Director. “We really want to make sure that our programs are meeting the needs of the community. By having community partners complete surveys, this is one way we are meeting this goal.”

While the CSBG Act requires the distribution of a Community Needs Assessment, the questionnaire provides an opportunity for UCHRA to work toward addressing service gaps, needs, and opportunities within the region.

The survey is available to be completed online at until July 31, 2020. For more information, or to volunteer to take part in focus groups surrounding the needs of the Upper Cumberland Region, please contact LaNelle Godsey, Community Services Director, or Megan Spurgeon, Community Services Assistant Director, at (931) 528-1127.

# # #

About Upper Cumberland Human Resource Agency

The Upper Cumberland Human Resource Agency (UCHRA) was established by the Tennessee General
Assembly in 1973 to be the delivery system for human resources in the fourteen counties of the region. The programs operated by UCHRA initially included job training and transportation. During ensuing years, the UCHRA has expanded to supply a wide range of services that use a combination of funds from federal, state and local organizations.

Director and Attendance Supervisor Field Questions on Reopening Schools from Public During WJLE Call-In Program (Listen Here)

July 16, 2020
By: Dwayne Page

Director of Schools Patrick Cripps and Attendance Supervisor Joey Reeder appeared on WJLE this morning (Thursday) and took many LIVE call-in questions from listeners for almost 90 minutes on the frameworks and protocols for reopening DeKalb County Schools on Monday, August 3.

If you missed the program or would like to hear it again click the link below

Early Voting Starts Friday for August 6 Elections (View Ballot Here)

July 16, 2020
By: Dwayne Page

Early voting for the August 6 elections begins Friday, July 17 through Saturday, August 1 in the first floor courtroom of the DeKalb County Courthouse.

(Click link below to view ballot)

Hours for early voting are Mondays 1-5 p.m.; Tuesdays 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Wednesdays 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; Thursdays 2-6 p.m.; Fridays 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.; and Saturdays 9 a.m. to 12 noon.

Election day voting at all 15 precincts will be from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Thursday, August 6.

DeKalb County voters will make their choice for Assessor of Property in the DeKalb County General Election.

Republican Incumbent Assessor Shannon Cantrell, seeking a second four year term, will face a challenge for re-election by Democrat Tom Duggin.

All seven constable candidates will be unopposed in their respective districts on August 6th including Waylon Kyle in the 1st District, Darrell Johnson 2nd District, Travis Bryant 3rd District, Paul Cantrell 4th District, Mark Milam 5th District, Jason Brown 6th District, and Johnny King in the 7th District. All are Democrats except Bryant. The terms are for four years.

There will only be one contested school board race on August 6th. Jason Miller and Shawn Washer will be seeking the 6th district seat to succeed two term incumbent Doug Stephens, who is not running for re-election. Meanwhile Jamie L Cripps will be unopposed in her bid to succeed long time 5th district school board member W.J. (Dub) Evins, III who is not seeking re-election. The terms are four years.

Meanwhile, Republican Criminal Court Judge Wesley Bray will be unopposed in the 13th Judicial District special election on August 6th to serve out the last two years of former Judge David Patterson’s unexpired term. Patterson stepped down from the bench last year and Bray was appointed by the Governor to succeed him until the August 6th, 2020 election.

Five candidates will be vying for one of three aldermen seats in the Smithville Municipal Election on Thursday, August 6th. The slate of candidates include Incumbent Aldermen Don Crook, Shawn Jacobs, and Danny Washer along with newcomers, Jessica Higgins and Timothy John Perricone. All terms are for four years.

Meanwhile a mayor and two aldermen will be elected in the Dowelltown City Election on August 6. Incumbent Dowelltown Mayor Pam Redmon will be unopposed for re-election while Phillip Byford and Chris Walker will be running for Dowelltown Alderman. The terms are for four years.

Although five aldermen seats were to have been filled on August 6th in the Alexandria City Election only one person qualified to get her name on the ballot. Lynne Dickerson is seeking a four year term as Alderman.

State Representatives Terri Lynn Weaver of Lancaster in District 40 and Clark Boyd of Lebanon in District 46 will be unopposed for re-nomination in the Tennessee Republican Primary on August 6th. No candidates qualified for these offices in the Tennessee Democratic Primary. Weaver will face opposition from Independent candidate Paddy Sizemore of Smith County in the November Tennessee General Election. The terms are for two years.

Suanne Bone of Lebanon qualified for the Tennessee Democratic Primary on August 6th to fill a vacancy as State Executive Committeewoman in District 17.

Republican Congressman John Rose of Cookeville will be unopposed in the Tennessee GOP Primary for re-nomination on August 6 but he will have challengers in the November Tennessee General Election. Christopher Martin Finley of Sparta is unopposed for the Democratic Nomination for Congressman on August 6 and will be in the November race and Christopher B. Monday of Cookeville is an independent candidate for the office in November. The term is two years.

Fifteen Republicans and five Democrats will be seeking their party’s nomination August 6 for the U.S Senate in the November Tennessee General Election to succeed Incumbent US Senator Lamar Alexander who is not seeking re-election. The term is for six years.

The Republican candidates are: Clifford Adkins, Natisha Brooks, Byron Bush, Roy Dale Cope, Terry Dicus, Tom Emerson, Jr., George S. Flinn, Jr., Bill Hagerty, Jon Henry, Kent A. Morrell, Glen L. Neal Jr., John E. Osborne, Aaron L. Pettigrew, David Schuster, Manny Sethi.

The Democratic candidates are: Marquita Bradshaw, Gary G Davis, Robin Kimbrough, James Mackler, and Mark Pickrell.

Independent candidates for the U.S. Senate in the November Tennessee General Election are: Yomi “Fapas” Faparusi Sr., Jeffrey Alan Grunau, Ronnie Henley, G. Dean Hill, Steven J. Hooper, Aaron James, Elizabeth McLeod, Kacey Morgan, and Eric William Stansberry.


Shall Carma Dennis McGee be retained in office as a Judge of the Court of Appeals, Western Division,
or be replaced?

« First ‹ Previous 1 89 179 187 188 189 190 191 199 289 1265 Next › Last »


Close & Paschal

Home Furnishings