Charles Atnip Realty & Auction


VOL Network Classics to Feature Tennessee Basketball Double Feature Saturday on WJLE

May 20, 2020
By: Dwayne Page

The Vol Network will continue its weekly radio series this Saturday, May 23 on WJLE called “Vol Network Classics”.

The broadcast begins at 1 p.m. on WJLE AM 1480 and FM 101.7 and the Vol Network.

This week is a double feature: 1987 Tennessee Basketball vs. Auburn starring Tony White & 1977 Tennessee Basketball at Kentucky with Ernie Grunfeld and Bernard King.

Tennessee’s Tony White scored a school-record 51 points in the 1987 Tennessee-Auburn basketball game played on February 14, 1987, a school-record which still stands today. White was the SEC Co-player of the Year in 1987 and led the SEC in scoring in 1986 and 1987. Nicknamed “The Wizard”, he finished his career as Tennessee’s second leading all-time scorer.

Tennessee’s 1977 basketball game at Kentucky, played on January 12, is a very, very rare audio archive that was only discovered a few years ago. It was the first time Tennessee had played at brand new Rupp Arena and the game set the NCAA record for single-game attendance at an on-campus basketball facility. The rebroadcast of this game will begin during the second half as most of the first half of the game archive is missing. Tennessee featured All-Americans Ernie Grunfeld and Bernard King . Kentucky was ranked No. 2 in the country with All-American Jack Givens and Rick Robey. The game went to overtime. It turned out to be Tennessee’s fourth-straight win over Kentucky and it was the Wildcats’ first SEC loss in Rupp Arena.

Catch this historic double feature “Vol Network Classic” Saturday, May 23 starting at 1 p.m. on WJLE and the Vol Network

Northside Elementary Hosts Student Awards Parade Celebration

May 19, 2020
By: Dwayne Page

Students at Northside Elementary School were recognized in grand style last Thursday and Friday during an Awards Parade. A summer farewell celebration organized and conducted by the NES faculty and staff.

Students also honored the NES teachers by decorating their cars and sending messages to them. One student per grade level was awarded prizes for car decorations sponsored by the NES PTO.

The following students won for their respective grade:

2nd Grade – Natalia Johnson (Quarantine Teachers Rock)
3rd Grade – Lillie Williams (Homeschool is for the Birds)
4th Grade – Taylor Vincent (The Grinch)
5th Grade – Austin Merriman (Thank You for Helping Me SOAR)

Honorable Mentions:
Delia Willingham
Maggie Hendrixson
Lola Colwell
Emily Johnson

(UPDATED) Ballot Finalized for August 6th Elections (View Ballot Here)

May 19, 2020
By: Dwayne Page

The ballot for the August 6 elections has been finalized and released by the DeKalb County Election office.

(Click link below to view ballot)


Local voters will make their choice in one contested county-wide election, one contested school board race, a contested Smithville Municipal Election and in the state Republican or Democratic primaries. (a copy of the ballot can be found here) There are uncontested races for Constable, another school board seat, the mayor and two aldermen in Dowelltown and for aldermen seats in Alexandria. In addition, there is an uncontested race for Criminal Court Judge Part II District 13.

The county general ballot is headlined by the race for Assessor of Property with incumbent Republican Shannon A. Cantrell facing Democratic challenger Tom R. Duggin.

Two candidates, Jason Lee Miller and Shawn Washer, are seeking the 6th District School Board seat.

In Smithville, five candidates are vying for three seats on the city board. The aldermen candidates are: H. Don Crook (Incumbent), Jessica L. Higgins, Shawn Jacobs (Incumbent), Tim Perricone, and Danny Washer (incumbent).’

There are 15 candidates for U.S. Senate in the Republican primary and five candidates in the Democratic Primary.

Sixth District Congressman John Rose is unopposed in the Republican Primary and on the Democratic side, Christopher Martin Finley is unopposed. Those two will square off in November.

Incumbent state representatives Terri Lynn Weaver and Clark Boyd are unopposed in August. Weaver will face opposition from Independent candidate Paddy Sizemore of Smith County in the November Tennessee General Election. Boyd will be unopposed

Early voting will begin July 17 and run though August 1. Election Day is August 6.

Meanwhile, requests for absentee ballots are being taken by the local election office.

“Tennessee law allows registered voters to request and receive a mail-in ballot for several reasons. Being 60 or older is just one of 13 reasons available,” said Dennis Stanley, Administrator of Elections. “The DeKalb County Election Commission website,, has complete information about who is eligible to vote absentee by mail, the process for requesting and returning a by-mail ballot and all the dates and deadlines associated with by-mail voting.”

He said the request form on the website can be printed out, completed, and mailed, or scanned and emailed as an attachment, or faxed to the DeKalb County Election Office.

A copy of the August 6 ballot can also be found at

« First ‹ Previous 1 99 189 197 198 199 200 201 209 299 1218 Next › Last »


Close & Paschal

Home Furnishings