Tigers Win Season Opener Over Smith County 33-14 (Listen to WJLE’s Tiger Talk Program Here)

After scoring three touchdowns and shutting out Smith County in the first half, the DeKalb County Tigers held off the Owls in the second half to notch a 33-14 win before a home crowd on the opening night of the 2021 football season Friday evening.

The Tigers (1-0) will now gear up for their first region matchup of the year at Macon County (2-0) on Friday, September 3. Kick-Off will be at 7 p.m. Macon County has defeated East Robertson 34-12 and Westmoreland 14-6. Smith County is 0-2 with losses to Gordonsville 14-0 and DeKalb County 33-14.

The first of DC’s three scores in the first half came with 9:07 left in the opening period as Colby Barnes found the endzone on a 3 yard TD run capping a 53 yard Tiger drive. The PAT attempt failed but DeKalb County took an early 6-0 lead.

Isaac Knowles later scored on a 67 yard punt return followed by a successful extra point kick by Axel Aranda to put the Tigers up 13-0 with 7:28 left in the 1st period.

Diego Coronado took it in from 1 yard out with 9:50 left in the 2nd period capping an 80 yard Tiger drive and following another successful PAT by Axel Aranda, DeKalb County led 20-0.

Smith County scored twice in the second half. The first came on a 15 yard touchdown run by Bryce Currie completing a 47 yard drive with 5:55 left in the 3rd period. Javier Gasper added the extra point and the Owls cut the Tiger lead to 20-7.

Smith County’s Kylan Johnson then scored on a 25 yard run with 9:51 left in the 4th period capping a 71 yard drive. Gasper tacked on the extra point and the Owls trailed 20-14.

The Tiger offense then got hot again. After setting up DC at the Smith County 30 yard line on a kick-off return, Isaac Knowles caught a 30 yard touchdown pass from Quarterback Briz Trapp with 7:56 left in the 4th period. A two point conversion attempt failed but the Tigers extended their lead to 26-14.

The final score of the game came on a 4 yard TD run by Colby Barnes with 3:42 left in the 4th period. Aranda added the extra point and the Tigers won 33-14.

Saints Now 2-2 With 22-6 Win Over Watertown

The DeKalb Saints got their second football victory of the season Thursday night winning at home over Watertown Middle 22-6.

After watching the visitors take a 6 to nothing lead, the Saints went to work scoring three unanswered touchdowns with a pair of two point conversions while shutting out Watertown the rest of the game to get the win.

Juan Ortega had 15 carries for 96 yards and two touchdowns in the game while Jon Hendrix had 13 carries for 126 yards and a touchdown. He also converted both two point conversion plays. Wyatt Carter hauled in one catch for 38 yards.

The Saints are now 2-2 and will host White County for homecoming Thursday, September 2 at 6:30 p.m.

Saints Fall in Season Opener 28-0 to Overton County

The DeKalb Saints will be going for their first win of the season next week after falling to Overton County 28 to 0 in the season opener at home Thursday night, August 5. The Saints will host Macon County Thursday August 12 starting at 6:30 p.m.

DCHS Tiger Football Kicks-Off August 20 at Warren County

Its almost football time!

The DeKalb County High School Tiger Football Program is gearing up for the 2021 campaign now that the TSSAA dead period requirements have passed and practices are underway with sights set on the season opener at Warren County on Friday August 20 at 7 p.m. WJLE will have LIVE coverage.

During Tiger Media Day Friday, Tiger Coach Steve Trapp talked about what’s in store for this team over the next month.

“At this moment (Friday) we are in our second week back in after the dead period. Our first week was helmet only. This week is considered the heat acclimatization period so we had to do two days in helmet and then three days in helmet and shoulder pads. We will have a sleep over camp on Friday night and then wake up and have a practice Saturday morning. After that Saturday practice we will have covered everything we need to cover. From that point on it’s about making it better and then tweaking it to whoever we are playing for that week. After this week we will go full pads. We will have a scrimmage next Friday, July 30 against Gordonsville there. The following week, August 6 we will have a scrimmage at home versus Friendship Christian. Those start times typically are at 6 p.m. and then the week after that we will have a Jamboree on a Saturday, August 14 at Gordonsville and we will play Clay County for two quarters,” said Coach Trapp.

“We have a lot of guys coming back with a lot of experience. For some it will be their first opportunity to make a name for themselves in this program but we have a lot of confidence and faith that they will do that. There are a lot of juniors and seniors out there on the field. I think we have one sophomore who will be a starter. Last year we had a freshman. It’s about who can get out there and produce but we feel like we have a lot of quality guys this year,” Coach Trapp continued.

This year a new assistant coach will be roaming the sidelines with Coach Trapp and the other assistants.

“Our new coach is Dalton Stallings. He will be working with the running backs and safeties. He got hired in to lead our new ISS program here in the school system. We are excited to have him on board. He has been a great addition and fits in well with the culture of our coaching staff,” said Coach Trapp.

Stallings will be filling the void left by former assistant coach Thomas Cagle, who is succeeding David Gash as Assistant Principal. The other assistant coaches will be returning including Corey Rathbone, Michael Shaw, Brad Trapp, and Luke Green.

The same foes from last year will make up the 2021 DCHS Football Schedule with the exception of Goodpasture, a private school from the Nashville area, which will replace Grundy County. As for the region, the Upperman Bees, a familiar regular season opponent of the Tigers in recent years, will be joining DeKalb County and the other four teams that make up Class 4A, Region 4.

“We have been in a region with them before but now they are moving up from Class 3A to 4A so they will be in the Region with us (DeKalb County) Livingston Academy, Macon County, Cumberland County, and Stone Memorial. The addition of Upperman is the only change in the makeup of Region 4. We like challenges and this gives us a chance to step up even more,” said Coach Trapp.

In addition to the region foes, the Tigers will also again meet Warren County, Cannon County , Smith County and Watertown this fall

The 2021 DCHS Football schedule is as follows (* Region Opponent):

August 14: Jamboree at Gordonsville: 7 p.m.

August 20: Warren County- Away: 7 p.m.

August 27: Smith County-Home: 7 p.m.

September 3: Macon County*- Away: 7 p.m.

September 10: Watertown-Away: 7 p.m.

September 17: Cumberland County*-Home: 7 p.m.

September 24: Cannon County (Homecoming): 7 p.m.

October 1: Livingston Academy*- Away: 7 p.m.

October 8: BYE- NO GAME

October 15: Upperman*- Home: 7 p.m.

October 22: Goodpasture- Home: 7 p.m.

October 29: Stone Memorial*- Away: 7 p.m.

Four Tigerettes Earn All-District Honors

Four members of the DCHS Tigerette Fast Pitch Softball Team have earned All-District Awards.

Morgan Walker, Aniston Farler, and Jacey Hatfield have been named to the All-District Team and Hatfield made the All-District Tournament Team. Bri Murphy was selected to the All District Freshmen Team.

The Tigerettes were eliminated from the District Tournament last week and finished the season at 13-13.

Pictured left to right: Bri Murphy, Morgan Walker, Aniston Farler, and Jacey Hatfield.

« First ‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 13 64 Next › Last »