Charles Atnip Realty & Auction


Thirty Nine Tennessee Tech Students from DeKalb Make Dean’s List

February 12, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

Thirty nine students from DeKalb County have made the Dean’s List for the 2017 Fall Semester and nine have graduated at Tennessee Tech University.

Dean’s List students from DeKalb County are:
DeKalb – Alexandria
Kyra M Slager,

DeKalb – Dowelltown
Matthew M Antoniak, Peter Z Antoniak, Mary Sue Cantrell, Lucas Kyle Green, Steven J Laxton, Allyson F Trapp, Brittany N Wilkerson,

DeKalb – Liberty
Bailey T Hayes, Kenzie Mlynn Morris, Crystal P Vickers,

DeKalb – Smithville,
Connor N Apple, Jonathon L Ball, Vickey Sue Barrett, Jerica E Braswell, Downing Elizabeth Burke, Rayanna C Chapman, Brittany Danielle Ferrell, Travis D Ferrell, Seth J Gerringer, Jude Stuart Kaney, Troy Alexander Lee, Lauren A Lewis, Julia E Little, Mariah N Lynch, Martha L Martin, Brittany Faith Moseley, Annieka M Norton, Bethany B Poss, Erin Colwell Poss, Laura L Reed, Allison A Rogers, Emily A Snow, Shauna F Taylor, Darrian L Turner, Norman R Underhill, Dalton H Vaughn, Taylor Brook Watson, Anna C Webb.

The 2017 Fall Semester graduates from DeKalb County at Tech are:
DeKalb – Dowelltown
Mary Sue Cantrell,

DeKalb – Smithville
Connor N Apple, Brittany Danielle Ferrell, Kayla N Hershman, Martha L Martin, Brittany Faith Moseley, Laura L Reed, Norman R Underhill, Dalton H Vaughn.

Twenty Three DeKalb Students on Dean’s List at MTSU

February 12, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

More than 5,060 MTSU students including 23 from DeKalb County are on the latest Dean’s List for their academic achievements for the fall 2017 semester. Meanwhile five MTSU students from DeKalb County graduated during the 2017 fall semester.

To qualify for the Dean’s List, a student must maintain a current semester grade-point average of 3.5 or above and earn at least 12 semester hours.

The “Dean’s List” notation applies only to undergraduate students. MTSU’s lists are updated after each semester ends and student grades are posted.

Those making the MTSU Dean’s List from DeKalb County are:
Eddie Dwayne Blair of Liberty
Alec Camren Bryan of Smithville
Scotty Dale Colwell of Dowelltown
Briana N. Cutliff of Smithville
Taylor B. Ellis of Alexandria
Richard Anthony Fisher of Alexandria
Taylor Morgan Harris of Smithville
Michael Li Huang of Smithville
Delaney Louise Johnson of Smithville
Mackenzie Danielle Keaton of Smithville
Elizabeth Catherine Lasser of Smithville
Brandon Robert Leiser of Smithville
Kelsey Ann MacDonald of Alexandria
Elizabeth Jane Mason of Dowelltown
Gabrielle S. Mould of Liberty
Janice Marie Penny of Liberty
McKenzie B. Poteete of Liberty
James Puckett of Smithville
Alexis Louise Roller of Smithville
Jordan Alex Turner of Smithville
Heather Nicole Vaughn of Smithville
Morgan M. Vickers of Liberty
Maranda Skye White of DeKalb County

Meanwhile the 2017 MTSU Fall graduates from DeKalb County are
Scotty Dale Colwell of Dowelltown
Taylor Morgan Harris of Smithville
Christina Erin King of Smithville
Haley Danielle Parchman of Smithville
James Puckett of Smithville

Danny Hale Wins DeKalb GOP Nomination for Road Supervisor

February 11, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

Danny Hale of Liberty won the Republican nomination for DeKalb County Road Supervisor in the local GOP caucus held Sunday afternoon at the courthouse.

Hale, who was nominated by party delegates, defeated Reed Edge 62 to 34. The vote was conducted by paper ballot.

“I would like to thank everybody who participated today. I thank them for coming out and for their support. I’m looking forward to running a good race,” Hale told WJLE after the meeting.

Hale will face Democrat Jimmy Sprague in the August 2nd DeKalb County General Election. Sprague is unopposed for the Democratic nomination for Road Supervisor in the May 1 DeKalb County Democratic Primary and although the qualifying deadline is not until Thursday, February 15 it’s too late for other Road Supervisor candidates to get qualified by the Tennessee Highway’s Certification Board. The filing deadline with the state board was February 1. Both Hale and Sprague are state certified.

Incumbent Republican Road Supervisor Wallace “Butch” Agee decided not to seek re-election to a second term.

All the other Republican candidates for the August 2 DeKalb County General Election were nominated by acclamation during the caucus Sunday including Incumbent Sheriff Patrick Ray, Incumbent Trustee Sean Driver, Susan Martin for Circuit Court Clerk, and County Commission candidates Tom Chandler in the 1st district, Sabrina Farler in the 2nd district, Renee Steff in the 3rd district, Greg Matthews in the 4th district, Incumbent Jerry Adcock in the 5th district, Matt Adcock in the 6th district, and Bruce Malone in the 7th district.

Incumbent 1st district Republican County Commissioner Mason Carter was not present for the caucus and will not be seeking re-election.

Democrats will soon get their turn.

The DeKalb County Democratic Party will hold a Mass Meeting for county and state Democratic candidates, Saturday, February 17 to kick off the election year. The event will take place at the DeKalb County High School cafeteria, beginning at 10:00 a.m.

Meet the candidates for Governor, US Senator, US Representative, State Senator, State Representative, County Mayor, Circuit Court Clerk, Road Supervisor, Sheriff, County Clerk, Register of Deeds, Trustee, County Commission, School Board, City Council.

Mary Mancini, Chair of the Tennessee Democratic Party, will be the keynote speaker.

Both candidates for Governor former Nashville Mayor Karl Dean & House Minority Leader Craig Fitzhugh will be in attendance along with former Governor Phil Bredesen now running for the United States Senate. Mary Alice Carfi candidate for State Senate will also be present.

The event will feature live music by Jake Hoot, coffee, donuts, and conversation

« First ‹ Previous 1 1120 1210 1218 1219 1220 1221 1222 1230 1262 Next › Last »


Close & Paschal

Home Furnishings