Bradley Miller Named Tiger Football MVP, Breanna Gibson MVC

January 28, 2018

Bradley Miller, a senior, was named Most Valuable Player of the 2017 DCHS Tiger Football Team during the annual Awards Banquet held Saturday night at the Smithville First Baptist Church Life Enrichment Center building.

The MVP trophy was presented to Miller by Coach Steve Trapp.

“This guy has played a lot of football for us this year as a senior. I don’t think he came off the field a whole lot. He was on special teams, defense, and offense. We put him in as running back in a couple of games. He returned kicks and punts. Last year as a junior he probably had the best defensive back year ever as a DCHS football player but he didn’t have as many opportunities this year because people just wouldn’t throw at him. Last year he was All-State in different areas and pre-season All State this year. He is a tremendous high school football player,” said Coach Trapp.

In addition to his MVP trophy, Miller was named Most Outstanding Defensive Back in Region 3 Class 4A

The Tiger football team finished the season in November with an overall record of 3-8 and another appearance in the state play-offs. The Tigers lost in the first round of the TSSAA Class 4A Football Play-Offs at Lewisburg to Marshall County on November 4. The final score was 42-0.

Meanwhile, Breanna Gibson, a senior, was named Most Valuable Cheerleader at the football banquet Saturday night. The presentation was made by Cheer Coach Amanda Fuller.

“This girl is beautiful inside and out. She is brilliant. She works hard. She is very calm. Slow to anger. She leads by example and has pushed herself very hard for four years to become the awesome cheerleader that she is today. She is a perfect example of what a cheerleader should be and although she had an injury this season she was still at all the practices and games leading her team. She was an NCA All American nominee and was asked this year to join the NCA staff which is a great and rare honor. She has been a true blessing to this squad for four years,” said Coach Fuller.

Other individual Football Player Awards are as follows:

Offensive Player of the Year- Tyler Cantrell
Offensive Lineman- Gage Delape
Offensive Back- David Bradford
Receiver- Braxton Linder
Defensive Player of the Year- Jesse Smith
Defensive Lineman- Isaac Cross
Linebacker- Nick May
Defensive Back- Grayson Redmon
Special Teams Player- Andrew Fuson
Most Improved- Peyton Leaf
MVP- Bradley Miller
Coach Clay Edwards Memorial Tiger Pride Award-Nick May

Coach Trapp presented awards to eight members of the team and an assistant coach for earning All Region 3 Class 4A Honors including the following:

Most Outstanding Tight End: Braxton Linder
Most Outstanding Returner: Paxton Butler
Most Outstanding Defensive Back: Bradley Miller
DCHS Assistant Coach Thomas Cagle received Special Teams Coach of the Year in Region 3

Named to the All Region 1st Team from DCHS are:
Jesse Smith, Nick May, and Gage Delape

Named to the All Region 2nd Team from DCHS are:
Tyler Cantrell and David Bradford.

Individual Cheer Awards are as follows:

Best Stunts- Alley Sykes
Most Spirited- Breanna Gibson
Best Jumps- Kiersten Griffith
Best Dancer-Katherine Malone
Best Cheer-Allison Maynard
MVC- Breanna Gibson
DEAR (Dedication, Enthusiasm, Attitude, and Responsibility)-Shaunta Koegler