School Board Takes Up Light Agenda

July 12, 2019
By: Dwayne Page

The DeKalb County Board of Education met briefly Thursday evening at the Ernest Ray Education Center.

During the short session, Director of Schools Patrick Cripps gave his monthly personnel report to the board. In it he announced that Corey Rathbone has been granted a leave of absence as requested. Lesa Hayes, teacher has been transferred from DeKalb Middle School to DCHS. Bradley Hendrix, transferred from Smithville Elementary School to the DCHS Alternative Learning Center. Tad Webb has been transferred from DeKalb Middle School as assistant principal to a teaching position at DCHS. He will also be the high school baseball coach. Meanwhile Adam Kefauver, DCHS teacher and high school baseball coach has resigned. Jimmy Sprague, transportation supervisor has resigned. Heather Shehane, Gabriella Turner, and Victoria Vincent have also resigned.

In other business, the school board appointed the student disciplinary hearing authority board for the year. This board considers appeals on student disciplinary issues. It is made up of three supervisors from the district office and an administrator and teacher from a school not involved with the student discipline issue. Joey Reeder, district attendance supervisor will serve as the chairman of this board as appointed by Director of Schools Cripps.