School Board Appreciation Week Begins January 21

January 4, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

Governor Bill Haslam has declared January 21-28, 2018 as School Board Appreciation Week in Tennessee.

“This week helps build awareness and understanding of the vital functions our locally elected boards of education play in our community,” said Haslam.

The DeKalb County School System is joining public school districts from across the state to celebrate School Board Appreciation Week and honor local board members for their commitment to DeKalb County and its children.

“The school system is the backbone of our community, and these men and women devote countless hours to making sure our schools are helping every child”, said Director of Schools Patrick Cripps.

“There is no greater honor that can be bestowed upon a citizen than membership on a local board of education. They spend countless hours studying the issues and regulations and make the tough decisions when called upon to ensure the type of accountability people expect,” he said.

Director Cripps said the key work of school boards is to raise student achievement by: Creating a vision for what the community wants the school district to be and for making student achievement the top priority; Establishing standards for what students will be expected to learn and be able to do; Ensuring progress is measured to be sure the district’s goals are achieved and students are learning at expected levels; Being accountable for their decisions and actions by continually tracking and reporting results; Creating a safe, orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach; Forming partnerships with others in the community to solve common problems; and Focusing attention on the need for continuous improvement by questioning, refining and revising issues related to student achievement.

Íž”Our local school board shapes the future of education in DeKalb County by influencing the high-quality of education that our children and youth receive. The DeKalb County school board shows its commitment to educational excellence and equity and for that we are very grateful for their attitude of service,” said Cripps

The members serving our district are as follow
First District: Danny Parkerson
Second District: Jerry Wayne Johnson
Third District: Jim Beshearse
Fourth District: Kate Miller
Fifth District: W.J. (Dub) Evins, III
Sixth District: Doug Stephens
Seventh District: Shaun Tubbs