Jimmy Womack Reappointed to DUD Board

July 23, 2022
By: Dwayne Page

Jimmy Womack has been reappointed to a new four-year term on the DeKalb Utility District Board of Commissioners.

County Mayor Tim Stribling announced his appointment of Womack during Thursday night’s county commission committee meeting of the whole.

Womack is one of three members on the board who serves DeKalb County. Each term is for four years.

By law, the DUD board must submit the names of three nominees to fill each position, listed in order of preference. The list of nominees submitted included Womack, Jimmy Herndon, and Mack Harney in that order to the DeKalb County Mayor.

The general provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated (State Law) TCA § 7-82-307 provide that the utility board members must submit three nominees, listed in order of preference, to the county mayor (where the vacancy exists). The county mayor has the authority to appoint one of the nominees to the vacant position on the board or reject all of the nominees. If the county mayor rejects all three nominees, then the board of (utility) commissioners has to submit three additional nominees to the county mayor for consideration.

The DUD Board is made up of five members, three from DeKalb County (Jimmy Womack, Kerry Davis, and Hugh Washer), one from Cannon (Roger Turney), and one from Smith County (Danny Bass). The terms are staggered.