Everything Voters Need to Know for the State Primary

August 2, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

Tennesseans will head to the polls across the state Thursday to vote in the Aug. 2 primary.

626,894 Tennesseans voted in person or absentee during the two-week early voting period which ended Saturday, July 28, 2018. A comprehensive breakdown from the Division of Elections shows how this turnout compares to past election years.

Download the GoVoteTN app now!

Voters can download the GoVoteTN app, available in the App Store or Google Play, to view voter-specific information. Voters can find polling locations, view and mark sample ballots and much more. The platform is also available at GoVoteTN.com.

When polls open and close

Polls open at various times depending on the county. Here is a full list of when all 95 counties open. All polls in Tennessee close at 8 p.m. EDT / 7 p.m. CDT.

Being flexible may also help speed up the process. Midmorning and midafternoon are usually slower times at polling locations, while early morning, noon and 5 p.m. are peak times as people typically vote before work, after work or on their lunch breaks.

Voter ID

Tennesseans voting on Election Day should remember to bring valid photo identification with them to the polls. A driver’s license or photo ID issued by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security as well as photo IDs issued by Tennessee state government or the federal government are acceptable even if they are expired. College student IDs are not acceptable.

More information about what types of ID are acceptable can be found here: What ID is required when voting? or by calling toll free 1-877-850-4959.

Election results

Unofficial election results for the Aug. 2 primary will be posted at elections.tn.gov .

What not to wear

State law requires polling locations and the area within a 100-foot boundary surrounding each entrance remain campaign-free zones. Tennessee law prohibits the display or distribution of campaign materials and the solicitation of votes for or against any person, party or question on the ballot in these areas.

Voters who have difficulty standing in line

Frail, physically disabled or visibly pregnant voters should tell their polling officials if they are unable to wait in line to vote. The law allows them to move through the process faster.


People with questions or concerns about the voting process can go to GoVoteTN.com or call the Division of Elections toll-free at 1-877-850-4959.

The Tennessee Democratic and Republican Primaries on August 2 will feature several contested races for state offices.

Six Republicans and three Democrats are in the race for Governor.

Seeking the Republican nomination for Governor on August 2 are Diane Black, Randy Boyd, Beth Harwell, Bill Lee, Basil Marceaux, Sr. and Kay White.

Democrats in the hunt for their party’s nomination for Governor are Karl Dean, Craig Fitzhugh, and Mezianne Vale Payne.

Two Republicans and three Democrats are looking to succeed Bob Corker as U.S. Senator

Candidates in the GOP primary for the US Senate are Marsha Blackburn and Aaron L. Pettigrew.

Democrats seeking the nomination for the US Senate are Phil Bredesen, Gary Davis, and John Wolfe

For the US House of Representatives,6th District, contenders for the GOP nomination are Bob Corlew, Judd Matheny, Christopher Brian Monday, John Rose, and Lavern “Uturn Lavern” Vivio.

Democrats looking to be nominated for Congress are Dawn Barlow, Christopher Martin Finley, Peter Heffernan, and Merilee Wineinger.

In the race for State Senate, District 17, the candidates are Republican Mark Pody and Democrat Mary Alice Carfi. They are each running unopposed for the nomination of their respective parties on August 2.

For the State House of Representatives in District 40, Terri Lynn Weaver and Chad Z. Williams are vying for the GOP nomination. There is no Democratic candidate.

In the District 46 race for the State House of Representatives, the GOP candidates seeking the nomination are Clark Boyd and Menda McCall Holmes.

Democrats seeking the nomination for District 46 are Mark Cagle and Faye Northcutt-Knox

For GOP State Executive Committeeman, District 17, the candidates are Jerry Beavers and Dwayne Craighead.

Two candidates are running for GOP State Executive Committeewoman, District 17, Terri Nicholson and Jennifer Franklin Winfree.

Aubrey T. Givens is in the race for Democratic State Executive Committeeman, District 17 while Carol Brown Andrews is seeking the position of Democratic State Executive Committeewoman, District 17.

Winners of the primaries will face off in the November Tennessee General Election