Election Commission Issues Eight Petitions for August Races

January 6, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

Eight people paid a call on the DeKalb County Election Commission Office Friday, the first day potential candidates could pick up qualifying petitions for the school board and municipal elections on August 2.

Smithville Mayor Jimmy Poss and Aldermen Jason Murphy and Gayla Hendrix obtained petitions. They plan to seek re-election to new four year terms in August.

Darrell Johnson got a petition for Mayor of Liberty. A Liberty mayor and five aldermen will be elected in August.
Incumbent School Board members Danny Parkerson in the 1st district, Jim Beshearse in the 3rd district, and Shaun Tubbs in the 7th district also got a petition and along with newcomer Alan Hayes of Liberty in the 2nd district. Five school board members will be elected in August.

Up for election on August 2nd will be school board seats in Districts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 7. Those positions are currently held by Danny Parkerson in the 1st district, Jerry Wayne Johnson in the 2nd district, Jim Beshearse in the 3rd district, Kate Miller in the 4th district, and Shaun Tubbs in the 7th district.

City seats up for grabs on August 2, pending any resignations/vacancies, are: In Smithville the Mayor and two aldermen seats currently held by Mayor Jimmy Poss and Aldermen Jason Murphy and Gayla Hendrix; in Dowelltown three aldermen seats (Brad Driver, Keith Farler, and Ron Griffith were elected to those positions in 2014); in Liberty the Mayor and five aldermen seats currently held by Mayor Dwight Mathis and Aldermen Dwayne Blair, Jason Ray, Howard Reynolds, Jr., J.D. Bratten, and Todd Dodd and in Alexandria the Mayor and three aldermen seats now held by Mayor Bennett Armstrong and Aldermen Matt Boss, Danny Parkerson, and Eddie Blair. Another alderman will be elected to fill a two year unexpired term. Mac Willoughby currently holds that position after the recent resignation of Kelly Pyburn.

Qualifying petitions for these races must be returned by Noon April 5.

In addition, candidates interested in running for the 17th Tennessee Senatorial District and State Houses in Districts 40 and 46 have the same qualifying deadline. Those positions are currently held by State Senator Mark Pody and State Representative Terri Lynn Weaver in district 40. The Wilson County Commission will convene January 10 to appoint a successor to Pody as State Representative of district 46 who will serve until the general election in November. The state primaries for these offices will be August 2.

Steve Officer Appointed to Farm Service Agency State Committee

January 6, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

Steve Officer of DeKalb County has been appointed to the Farm Service Agency State Committee for Tennessee. Officer is not only a member, he also serves as chairman of the state committee.

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue Thursday announced the slate of Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Committee Appointees. State committees are selected by the Secretary, serve at the pleasure of the Secretary, and are responsible for carrying out FSA’s farm programs within delegated authorities.

“The State Committees will help to ensure USDA is providing our farmers, ranchers, foresters, and agricultural producers with the best customer service,” Secretary Perdue said. “They serve as a liaison between USDA and the producers in each state across the nation by keeping them informed and hearing their appeals and complaints. The committees are made up mostly of active farmers and ranchers, representing their peers and ensuring USDA’s programs are supporting the American harvest.”

State committees are appointed for a one year term which began on January 1, 2018. Each state committee has five members, one chairperson and four members.

Free Flu Vaccine Now Available at the DeKalb Health Department

January 5, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

The DeKalb County Health Department is offering flu vaccines at no charge to patients. Influenza activity is widespread in Tennessee, so it’s extremely important for anyone over six months of age to get a flu shot now.

The flu vaccine is especially important for infants, young children, pregnant women, adults over age 50 and for those with chronic medical conditions. The flu shot remains the best protection we have against influenza.

The DeKalb County Health Department clinic is currently offering flu vaccinations at no cost to patients until vaccine supplies are depleted. Patients may walk in to request a flu vaccine any time during regular clinic hours. OR Appointments must be made to receive flu vaccine, and are now being scheduled at the clinic.

“Getting a flu vaccine is the best way to protect yourself, family members and others from the flu and help keep our community healthy,” said DeKalb County Health Director Michael Railling. ”We urge everyone who has not received a flu shot yet, to get one now.”

It’s also important to help prevent the spread of flu and other winter viruses by practicing good health habits:
•Wash hands thoroughly with soap and water or use an alcohol based hand sanitizer
•Cover your nose and mouth when coughing or sneezing
•Avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth
•Stay home if you are sick

For more information about the flu and free flu vaccines, call the DeKalb County Health Department at 615-597-7599.

« First ‹ Previous 1 414 504 512 513 514 515 516 519 Next › Last »