Charles Atnip Realty & Auction


DeKalb County GOP to Select Candidates on February 11

January 7, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

The DeKalb County Republican Party will be hosting a Caucus, more formally known as a County Convention, on Sunday, February 11, 2018, at 2PM at the DeKalb County Courthouse, for the purpose of selecting the Republican Candidates for the Offices of County Mayor, Sheriff, Trustee, County Court Clerk, Circuit Court Clerk, Register of Deeds, and Road Superintendent of DeKalb County. Republican Candidates will also be selected for all County Commission Districts.

A “Meet the Candidates” event will be held on Saturday, January 13, 2018, at 10AM at the DeKalb County Courthouse. The purpose of this event is for all Republicans to mix and mingle with candidates who will be seeking the Republican nomination at the Caucus on Feb. 11.

All DeKalb County Republicans are invited to attend the “Meet the Candidates” event and the Caucus. To participate in the Caucus, you must be a bona fide Republican and a registered voter of DeKalb County. The candidates selected at the Caucus will represent the Republican Party in the August 2, 2018, DeKalb County General Election.

For more information, please contact Republican Party Chair Mingy Bryant at 615-597-2600 or Vice Chair Clint Hall at 931-201-6962, or go to the Facebook Page at DeKalb County Republican Party.

Deer Hunting Season Beginning Home Stretch

January 6, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

The 2017-18 deer hunting season is nearing its conclusion in Tennessee. The gun season for deer concludes on Jan. 7 while the second Young Sportsman Hunt for 2017-18 is Jan. 13-14.

For the Young Sportsman Hunt, youth, 6-16 years of age are allowed to participate. The young sportsmen must be accompanied by a non-hunting adult at least 21 years of age who must remain in a position to take control of the hunting device.

The accompanying adult must comply with fluorescent orange regulations, as specified for legal hunters. Multiple youth may be accompanied by a single qualifying adult.

The first youth hunt of the season was held Oct. 28-29. The gun season for deer for everyone across the state began Nov. 18. Archery and muzzleloader equipment are also legal during gun season.

In addition, in Unit L counties on private lands only, antlerless deer can be hunted Jan. 8-12.

A final harvest tally for 2017-18 will be completed a few weeks following the completion of the Young Sportsman Hunt.

Election Commission Issues Eight Petitions for August Races

January 6, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

Eight people paid a call on the DeKalb County Election Commission Office Friday, the first day potential candidates could pick up qualifying petitions for the school board and municipal elections on August 2.

Smithville Mayor Jimmy Poss and Aldermen Jason Murphy and Gayla Hendrix obtained petitions. They plan to seek re-election to new four year terms in August.

Darrell Johnson got a petition for Mayor of Liberty. A Liberty mayor and five aldermen will be elected in August.
Incumbent School Board members Danny Parkerson in the 1st district, Jim Beshearse in the 3rd district, and Shaun Tubbs in the 7th district also got a petition and along with newcomer Alan Hayes of Liberty in the 2nd district. Five school board members will be elected in August.

Up for election on August 2nd will be school board seats in Districts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 7. Those positions are currently held by Danny Parkerson in the 1st district, Jerry Wayne Johnson in the 2nd district, Jim Beshearse in the 3rd district, Kate Miller in the 4th district, and Shaun Tubbs in the 7th district.

City seats up for grabs on August 2, pending any resignations/vacancies, are: In Smithville the Mayor and two aldermen seats currently held by Mayor Jimmy Poss and Aldermen Jason Murphy and Gayla Hendrix; in Dowelltown three aldermen seats (Brad Driver, Keith Farler, and Ron Griffith were elected to those positions in 2014); in Liberty the Mayor and five aldermen seats currently held by Mayor Dwight Mathis and Aldermen Dwayne Blair, Jason Ray, Howard Reynolds, Jr., J.D. Bratten, and Todd Dodd and in Alexandria the Mayor and three aldermen seats now held by Mayor Bennett Armstrong and Aldermen Matt Boss, Danny Parkerson, and Eddie Blair. Another alderman will be elected to fill a two year unexpired term. Mac Willoughby currently holds that position after the recent resignation of Kelly Pyburn.

Qualifying petitions for these races must be returned by Noon April 5.

In addition, candidates interested in running for the 17th Tennessee Senatorial District and State Houses in Districts 40 and 46 have the same qualifying deadline. Those positions are currently held by State Senator Mark Pody and State Representative Terri Lynn Weaver in district 40. The Wilson County Commission will convene January 10 to appoint a successor to Pody as State Representative of district 46 who will serve until the general election in November. The state primaries for these offices will be August 2.

« First ‹ Previous 1 1403 1493 1501 1502 1503 1504 1505 1509 Next › Last »