Six DCHS Basketball Players Earn All-District Honors

February 13, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

Six DCHS basketball players have received All-District honors.

The selections were announced Friday .

Tanner Poss of the Tiger basketball team was named to the 1st Team All-District. Marshal Evins was selected to the 3rd Team All-District. Trey Jones earned Honorable Mention.

Emme Colwell of the Lady Tigers made the 2nd Team All-District and was named the District’s Most Improved Player among girls. Mya Ruch earned a spot on the District’s Defensive Team. Both Ruch and Lydia Brown received All-District Honorable Mention.

Akira Levy of Upperman and Seth Carlisle of Macon County were named the District’s Most Valuable Players and Dana McWilliams and Bobby McWilliams of Upperman were chosen as the District Coaches of the Year.

The DCHS Basketball teams will make their debut in the District 8 AA Tournament next week at Tennessee Tech in Cookeville.

The Tigers, the 6th seed, will take on Watertown, the 7th seed, on Tuesday night, February 13 at 7:30 p.m. The winner will meet Macon County, the 3rd seed, on Thursday, February 15 at 7:30 p.m.

Meanwhile the Lady Tigers, the 5th seed, will face Watertown, the 8th seed, on Wednesday night, February 14 at 6:00 p.m. The winner will meet Cannon County, the 4th seed, on Friday, February 16 at 6:00 p.m.

WJLE will have LIVE coverage.