Newly Elected Public Officials Take Oath of Office (View Video Here)

August 25, 2020
By: Dwayne Page

Although their terms of office won’t start until September 1, the newly elected Assessor of Property, Constables, and School Board members, took their oaths of office in a brief ceremony Tuesday evening at the County Complex.

County Mayor Tim Stribling administered the oaths.

Family and friends were in attendance for the occasion.

DeKalb Assessor of Property Shannon Cantrell Takes Oath of Office from dwayne page on Vimeo.

Those taking the oath were Assessor of Property Shannon Cantrell, who will be starting his second four year term; Constables Waylon Kyle in the 1st district, Darrell Johnson in the 2nd district, Travis Bryant in the 3rd district, Paul Cantrell in the 4th district, Mark Milam in the 5th district, and Jason Brown in the 6th district. Seventh district Constable Johnny King could not attend and will be sworn in later.

School board members Jamie Cripps in the 5th district and Jason Miller in the 6th district also took their oaths of office.

All terms are for four years