Board of Education Bids Goodbye to Two Longtime Members

August 14, 2020
By: Dwayne Page

The Board of Education and Director of Schools said goodbye to two long time members during Thursday night’s regular monthly meeting.

It was the last meeting for W.J. (Dub) Evins, III from the 5th district and Doug Stephens of the 6th district. Evins and Stephens decided not to seek re-election this year and their terms will expire August 31. They will be succeeded by Jamie Cripps of the 5th district and Jason Miller from the 6th district who were elected last Thursday. Their terms of office begin September 1.

On behalf of the Board of Education, Director of Schools Patrick Cripps presented both Evins and Stephens plaques of appreciation for their years of service.

“I just want to say publicly that I appreciate Mr. Evins and Mr. Stephens for their service to our students, faculty and staff, and for the support of this board as a whole working together trying to do what is right for our kids and employees and for the support you have provided me over the last five years. Thank you gentlemen for your service,” said Director Cripps.

Evins and Stephens told WJLE after the meeting that while they have mixed emotions about leaving the board they are proud of the educational progress made in the school system during their time in office.

“Its been a long journey since 1978 (when I was first elected to the board) but I couldn’t ask for a better group of board members to work with. I would like to see these new members come on and support Mr. Cripps and hope they can get this new school off the ground. I’m really anxious to see that happen. The whole board has been great. Its been a blessing,” said Evins.

“I think everybody has a duty to serve and I feel I have put my time in of that service. I am proud of the accomplishments we have made. I am sad that we have not gotten things approved or done as much as what my vision was. I had a great vision and we fulfilled some of it so I am proud of that. It was great to make new friends and work with and develop relationships with board members,” said Stephens.

Stephens was elected to the Board of Education in 2012 and re-elected in 2016. He is completing his second term with a total of eight years.

Evins had two tenures on the board covering a total of 34 years. He was first elected to the Board in 1978 and served for three terms and 18 years having been re-elected in 1984 and 1990. School board terms were for six years back then. After his mother passed away Evins chose not to seek re-election to a fourth term in 1996 but he returned to the Board after he was appointed to fill a vacancy in 2004. Evins was elected to a full four year term later that year and he was re-elected in 2008, 2012, and 2016. Evins also served several years as Chairman of the Board.

In other business, Director Cripps gave his monthly update on personnel moves.

The following have been employed since the last meeting:

Tiffany Bjorge, Educational Assistant at Northside Elementary School
Ashley Cantrell, Teacher at Northside Elementary School
Luke Dycus, Teacher at DeKalb County High School
Kaylene Ferguson, Teacher at Smithville Elementary School
Erica Garrett, Pre-K Assistant at DeKalb West School
Judy Malone, School Psychologist
Kendall Petty, Educational Assistant at Smithville Elementary School

Leave of Absence as requested:
Tonya Roberts

Lindsay Floyd, Teacher at Northside Elementary School
Brittany Page, Educational Assistant at Smithville Elementary School
Sandra Saracho, Teacher at Northside Elementary School
Vicki Wilson, Teacher at DeKalb West School