(UPDATED) Ballot Finalized for August 6th Elections (View Ballot Here)

May 19, 2020
By: Dwayne Page

The ballot for the August 6 elections has been finalized and released by the DeKalb County Election office.

(Click link below to view ballot)


Local voters will make their choice in one contested county-wide election, one contested school board race, a contested Smithville Municipal Election and in the state Republican or Democratic primaries. (a copy of the ballot can be found here) There are uncontested races for Constable, another school board seat, the mayor and two aldermen in Dowelltown and for aldermen seats in Alexandria. In addition, there is an uncontested race for Criminal Court Judge Part II District 13.

The county general ballot is headlined by the race for Assessor of Property with incumbent Republican Shannon A. Cantrell facing Democratic challenger Tom R. Duggin.

Two candidates, Jason Lee Miller and Shawn Washer, are seeking the 6th District School Board seat.

In Smithville, five candidates are vying for three seats on the city board. The aldermen candidates are: H. Don Crook (Incumbent), Jessica L. Higgins, Shawn Jacobs (Incumbent), Tim Perricone, and Danny Washer (incumbent).’

There are 15 candidates for U.S. Senate in the Republican primary and five candidates in the Democratic Primary.

Sixth District Congressman John Rose is unopposed in the Republican Primary and on the Democratic side, Christopher Martin Finley is unopposed. Those two will square off in November.

Incumbent state representatives Terri Lynn Weaver and Clark Boyd are unopposed in August. Weaver will face opposition from Independent candidate Paddy Sizemore of Smith County in the November Tennessee General Election. Boyd will be unopposed

Early voting will begin July 17 and run though August 1. Election Day is August 6.

Meanwhile, requests for absentee ballots are being taken by the local election office.

“Tennessee law allows registered voters to request and receive a mail-in ballot for several reasons. Being 60 or older is just one of 13 reasons available,” said Dennis Stanley, Administrator of Elections. “The DeKalb County Election Commission website, www.dekalbelections.com, has complete information about who is eligible to vote absentee by mail, the process for requesting and returning a by-mail ballot and all the dates and deadlines associated with by-mail voting.”

He said the request form on the website can be printed out, completed, and mailed, or scanned and emailed as an attachment, or faxed to the DeKalb County Election Office.

A copy of the August 6 ballot can also be found at www.dekalbelections.com.