Alexandria Mayor Wins Write-In Campaign. Liberty Mayor Also Re-elected

August 3, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

Alexandria Mayor Bennett Armstrong won a write-in campaign for re-election Thursday to a second four year term.

Armstrong defeated Donna Davis 34 to 28. She also ran as a write-in candidate.

No one qualified to get their name on the ballot to run for mayor.

Three aldermen were to have been elected in Alexandria Thursday but only person qualified to get his name on the ballot, Lloyd Dale Dyer. He was elected to a four year term with 130 votes. Two other persons mounted a write-in campaign for alderman including Shane Blair, an incumbent, who won a four-year term with 19 votes and Bridgette Rogers, who was elected with 11 votes to a fill a two-year vacant term.

Meanwhile Liberty Mayor Dwight Mathis won a second four year term Thursday, beating challenger Darrell Johnson 70 to 50.

The five incumbent Liberty Aldermen were re-elected unopposed to new four year terms including Dwayne Blair with 82 votes, J.D. Bratten 85 votes, Derek Johnson 65 votes, Jason H. Ray with 75 votes and William Howard Reynolds, Jr. with 78 votes.

Three aldermen were to have been elected in Dowelltown but only one candidate qualified, Ronald L. Griffith and he won with 72 votes. The terms are four years.


New School Board Member Elected Thursday

August 3, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

A new school board member will represent the second district beginning September 1.

Alan Hayes defeated Incumbent Jerry Wayne Johnson Thursday 362 to 267.

Four other members of the Board of Education up for re-election were unopposed including Danny Parkerson in the first district who received 513 complimentary votes,  Jim Beshearse in the third district with 531 votes, Kate Miller in the fourth district with 606 votes, and Shaun Tubbs in the seventh district who had 444 votes.

Sheriff Patrick Ray Gets Fourth Term

August 3, 2018
By: Dwayne Page

Sheriff Patrick Ray has been elected to a fourth term.

Ray, a Republican, defeated Michael Agee, a Democrat, on Thursday 3,650 to 963. He carried every precinct and had a majority of the early votes/absentees.

His new term begins September 1.

« First ‹ Previous 1 1409 1499 1507 1508 15091510 1511 1519 1609 1735 Next › Last »