Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Award Winners Named

December 1, 2008

Tennessee's best high school football players for 2008 were recognized at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards luncheon hosted by the Tennessee Titans.

More than 700 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, attended the 2008 luncheon at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center.

High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2008 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

The awards were presented to the top back and lineman in each of the seven classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. For the seventh time in the history of the award, the top kickers in the state were recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school's classification.

1A Lineman- Preston Gilbreath of Mt. Pleasant
1A Back- David Jones of South Pittsburg
2A Lineman- Tyler Robinson of Alcoa
2A Back- Ben Cunningham of Goodpasture
3A Lineman- Daniel Hook of Knoxville Catholic
3A Back- Zach Rogers of David Lipscomb
4A Lineman- Justin Smith of Maryville
4A Back- Marsalis Teague of Henry County
5A Lineman- Jacques Smith of Ooltewah
5A Back-Tausean Holmes of Millington Central
Division II-A Lineman- Blair Arrington of Davidson Academy
Division II-A Back- Marlon Brown of Harding Academy
Division II-AA Lineman- Austin Long of Briarcrest
Division II-AAA Back-- Tavarres Jefferson of Ensworth
Kicker of the Year- Jared White of Trousdale County

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree