Meadows and Young Receive DCHS Basketball MVP Awards, Judkins Named MVC

DCHS Basketball MVC and MVP Award Winners
DCHS Tiger Basketball Award Winners
DCHS Lady Tiger Basketball Award Winners
DCHS Basketball Cheerleader Award Winners

Senior Alex Meadows and Junior Sonni Young were named the 2012 DCHS basketball Most Valuable Players Thursday night at the annual team banquet, while Senior Ally Judkins was selected as the Most Valuable Cheerleader. The awards were presented by Chad Kirby of Love-Cantrell Funeral Home. The MVP and MVC awards are named in memory Chad's grandfather, Allen D. Hooper.

Young, who has scored 1,112 points to date in his career at DCHS, also received the best defensive player award and he was recognized for being best athlete and best rebounder. Young was also named the Defensive Player of the Year in District 8 AA while Stephen Howell was the District's Co-Most Improved Player of the Year. In addition to taking the District Defensive Player of the Year award, Young was named to the All-District's 1st Team. Braxton Atnip made the 2nd Team. Stephen Howell was named to the 3rd Team and Lucas Phillips and Will Molander received Honorable Mention. Braxton Howell was selected to the All Freshman Team.

In addition to winning the MVP honor, Meadows took home awards for best defender as well as the hustle and coaches award. Meadows also made the All-District 2nd Team and Loren Cripps was selected to the All Freshman Team.

The season for the DeKalb County Tigers ended with a loss to the Sequatchie County Indians in the semi-finals of the Region 4-AA Tournament at White County High School in Sparta. The Tigers concluded the 2011-12 campaign with an over-all record of 26-7. They were also runners-up in the district tournament.

The DeKalb County Lady Tigers wrapped up their season losing to Cannon County in the opening game of the District 8 AA basketball tournament at Sparta. The Lady Tigers finished with an over-all record of 13-16.

Other individual cheerleading awards included:

Most Spirit: Kelsey Hale

Most Improved: Morgan Mullican

Best Jumps: Jasmine Dimas

Best Dance: Christian Atnip

Best Stunts: Victoria Vincent

Best Overall Attitude: Taneah Cantrell

STAR Award (Spirit, Team, Attitude, Respect): Ashlee Whitehead

Other Lady Tiger basketball awards were as follows:

MVP, Best defender, Hustle, and Coaches Award: Alex Meadows

Tiger Award: Loren Cripps

Best Practice: Ashley Barnes

Best Attitude: Chelsea Cantrell

Best Rebounder: Lydia Foutch

Most Improved: Danielle Tyson

Best Offensive Player and Best Free Throw Shooter- Chelsea Lewis

Best Passer- Abbey Caldwell

For the Tigers,

MVP, Best Defender, Best Athlete, Best Rebounder: Sonni Young

Best Offensive Player, Best Free Throw Shooter, Best Ball Handler: Stephen Howell

Best Practice Player: Zach Vincent

Best Passer: Will Molander

Best Sixth Man: Ethan Roller

Smartest Player: Braxton Atnip

Most Improved Player: Lucas Phillips

Best Attitude and Hustle Award: Eli Lomas

Meanwhile, Edward and Edsel Frazier were named the Tiger basketball Fans of the Year.

The annual DCHS basketball banquet was held at the Smithville First Baptist Church Life Enrichment Center.

(TOP PHOTO: Chad Kirby (right) and Shelia Kirby (left) present the Love-Cantrell Funeral Home Allen D. Hooper Memorial MVC Award to Ally Judkins (SECOND FROM LEFT) and the MVP to Sonni Young and Alex Meadows of DCHS Basketball)

(SECOND PHOTO FROM TOP: Seated, Will Molander, Eli Lomas, Zach Vincent, Ethan Roller; Standing, Sonni Young-MVP, Braxton Atnip, Lucas Phillips, and Stephen Howell)

(THIRD PHOTO FROM TOP: Seated, Chelsea Cantrell, Alex Meadows-MVP, Abbey Caldwell, Lydia Foutch; Standing, Danielle Tyson, Ashley Barnes, Loren Cripps, and Chelsea Lewis)

(BOTTOM PHOTO: Seated, Ashlee Whitehead, Jasmine Dimas, Ally Judkins-MVC, Christian Atnip; Standing, Taneah Cantrell, Kelsey Hale, Morgan Mullican, Victoria Vincent)

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree