Lewis and Atnip Receive DCHS Basketball MVP Awards, Cantrell Named MVC

Chad Kirby, Chelsea Lewis, Braxton Atnip, Kayee Cantrell, Shelia Kirby
Tiger Basketball Award Winners
Lady Tiger Basketball Award Winners
DCHS Basketball Cheerleader Award Winners
Tiger Fans of the Year Joyce and Wallace Johnson

Seniors Chelsea Lewis and Braxton Atnip were named the 2013 DCHS basketball Most Valuable Players Thursday night at the annual team banquet, while Senior Kaylee Cantrell was selected as the Most Valuable Cheerleader. The awards were presented by Chad Kirby of Love-Cantrell Funeral Home. The MVP and MVC awards are named in memory Chad's grandfather, Allen D. Hooper.

Atnip, who went over 1,000 points in scoring for his career at DCHS during the Chattanooga Howard game in the sectionals or sub-state, also received the best rebounder and smartest player awards

In addition to winning the MVP honor, Lewis took home awards for best foul shooter as well as the hustle award.

DeKalb County's Sonni Fullilove, who scored 1,641 points for his high school career, was named the boy's Defensive Player of the Year in District 8 AA while Tiger Coach Lynus Martin was the Boy's District Coach of the Year. In addition to taking the Defensive Player of the Year award, Fullilove was also named to the All-District's 1st Team along with Braxton Atnip. Stephen Howell was named to the 2nd Team. Ethan Roller made the 3rd Team and Lucas Phillips and Will Molander received Honorable Mention.

Loren Cripps of the Lady Tigers made the All-District 3rd Team. Ashley Chew and Morgan Pedigo were selected to the All Freshman Team and Chelsea Lewis received Honorable Mention.

Tiger Coach Lynus Martin reached a milestone late in the season earning his 200th career coaching win.

The season for the DeKalb County Tigers ended with a loss at Chattanooga Howard in the sectionals or sub-state. The Tigers concluded the 2012-13 campaign with an over-all record of 30-7, the most ever wins in a single season in school history. They were also regular season district champs and runners-up in the district and regional tournaments.

The DeKalb County Lady Tigers wrapped up their season losing to Livingston Aacademy in their opening game of the District 8 AA basketball tournament at Cookeville. The Lady Tigers finished with an over-all record of 16-16.

Other individual cheerleading awards included:

Most Spirit: Chloe White

Most Improved: Chloe White

Best Jumps: Kara Kanipe

Best Dance: Katie Roehner

Best Stunts: Victoria Vincent

Best Overall Attitude: Kaylee Cantrell

STAR Award (Spirit, Team, Attitude, Respect): Kaylene Ferguson

Leadership Awards: Emily Webb, Kelsey Hale, and Erin Cantrell-Pryor

Other Lady Tiger basketball awards were as follows:

MVP: Chelsea Lewis

Best Foul Shooter: Chelsea Lewis

Hustle Award: Chelsea Lewis

Charge Award: Abbey Caldwell

Coaches Award: Abbey Caldwell

Best Rebounder: Lydia Foutch

Defensive MVP: Lydia Foutch

Most Improved: Morgan Pedigo

Sixth Woman: Ashley Chew

Best Passer: Paige Winningham

Best Three Point Shooter: Loren Cripps

Offensive MVP: Loren Cripps

Tiger Award: McKenzie Poteete

For the Tigers,

MVP: Braxton Atnip

Smartest Player: Braxton Atnip

Best Rebounder: Braxton Atnip

Best Passer: Will Molander

Hustle Award: Ethan Roller

Best Practice Player: Aaron Patterson

Most Improved: Justin Bone

Sixth Man: Justin Bone

Best Athlete: Stephen Howell

Best Ball Handler: Stephen Howell

Best Attitude: Eli Lomas

Best Foul Shooter: Sonni Fullilove

Best Defensive Player: Sonni Fullilove

Meanwhile, Wallace and Joyce Johnson were named the Tiger basketball Fans of the Year.

The annual DCHS basketball banquet was held at the Smithville First Baptist Church Life Enrichment Center.

(TOP PHOTO: Left to right- Chad Kirby, Chelsea Lewis, Braxton Atnip, Kaylee Cantrell, and Shelia Kirby)

(SECOND PHOTO FROM TOP: Left to right seated- Will Molander, Braxton Atnip, and Ethan Roller: STANDING Left to right- Aaron Patterson, Justin Bone, Stephen Howell, and Eli Lomas)

(THIRD PHOTO FROM TOP: Left to right seated-Lydia Foutch, Chelsea Lewis, and Abbey Caldwell; STANDING Left to right-Morgan Pedigo, Ashley Chew, Paige Winningham, Loren Cripps, and McKenzie Poteete)

(FOURTH PHOTO FROM TOP: Left to right seated-Kara Kanipe, Kayee Cantrell, and Victoria Vincent; STANDING Left to right- Emily Webb, Kaylene Ferguson, Chloe White, Katie Roehner, Kelsey Hale, and Erin Cantrell-Pryor)

(BOTTOM PHOTO: Joyce and Wallace Johnson

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree