Four Tiger football players named to All-Region Team

December 10, 2007

Four DeKalb County High School fTiger ootball players were honored with All-Region honors on Monday, at the Region 4-3A awards' banquet in Nashville.

Senior punter, Tyler Woods, headed up the DCHS nominations, as he was named the Region's top punter for 2007. Woods averaged 37.9 yards per punt, this season, for the Tigers, and he put 18 of his 39 punts inside the 20 yard line.

Joining Woods from DeKalb County as All-Region honorees were senior fullback, Collin Patterson; junior defensive back, J.J. Herriott; and sophomore quarterback, Hunter Poteete.

Patterson, the Tigers' team MVP, this past season, led Region 4-3A in receptions, was fourth in receiving yards, was second on the Tiger team in tackles and fourth in rushing.

Herriott was second in the region in both interceptions and return yardage, and ranked second on the team in receptions, third in receiving yards, and tied for first in receiving touchdowns. He also had 30 tackles, seven pass deflections and two fumble recoveries.

Poteete ranked in the top ten in the state in passing yards, with 1,646 yards on 206 attempts. He completed 114 passes for an average of 14.4 yards per completion, with a 55.3 completion percentage. Overall, he ranked second among quarterbacks in Region 4-3A. Poteete accounted for 2,066 of the Tigers' 3,022 total offensive yards, this past season, and either threw or ran for 15 of the team's 21 touchdowns.

Meanwhile, Deaunte Mason of Pearl-Cohn was named the region's Most Valuable Player for 2007. Mason led the Firebirds to a tie for first place in the region's final regular season standings, and to the Class 3A playoffs State Semifinals. Mason has committed to play college football at Kentucky.

Station Camp coach, Shaun Hollingsworth, was named the region's Coach of the Year. Hollingsworth led the Bison to a 9-1 regular season record, and to their second straight Region 4-3A regular season title.

The rest of the Region 4-3A awards were as follows:
DEFENSIVE MVP- Howard Griffin of Pearl-Cohn
OFFENSIVE MVP- Mathew Johnson of Station Camp
OFFENSIVE LINE- Roger Gaines of White House
DEFENSIVE LINE- Jacob Barker of Station Camp
OFFENSIVE BACK- Demarques Payne of White House
DEFENSIVE BACK- Garrett Gregory of Station Camp
LINEBACKER- Ryan Dickerson of Greenbrier
RETURN SPECIALIST- L’Darius Moore of Station Camp
PLACE KICKER- Zack Trobaugh of White House
MOST VERSATILE- Michael Seay of Greenbrier
WIDE RECEIVER- Wayne Cox of Pearl Cohn
QUARTERBACK- Justin Grogan of Greenbrier

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree