Early Voting Hours Set for State Senate Special Election

November 14, 2017
Dwayne Page
Mary Alice Carfi
Mark Pody

Early voting hours for the December 19th 17th Senatorial District Special Election have been set.

The candidates are Mary Alice Carfi, the Democratic nominee, and Mark Pody, the Republican nominee. The winner will fill the unexpired term of former State Senator Mae Beavers.

The DeKalb County Election Commission voted Monday night to set the following hours

Mondays 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Tuesdays 9 a.m. to 12 Noon

Wednesdays 9 a.m. to 12 Noon

Thursdays 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Fridays 9 a.m. to 12 Noon

Saturdays 9 a.m. to 12 Noon

Early voting begins November 29 and runs through December 14. All early voting is conducted on the first floor of the DeKalb County Courthouse.

Election Day is December 19 and polls will open that day at 8 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

Meanwhile, local candidates are gearing up for the May DeKalb County Democratic Primary and DeKalb County General Election in August. County offices up for election in 2018 are Road Supervisor, County Mayor, Circuit Court Clerk, Sheriff, Register of Deeds, County Clerk, Trustee and the county commission in each of the seven districts (two per district for a total of 14).

Petitions for the Democratic Primary will be available at the election office beginning Friday, November 17th. The qualifying deadline is Noon February 15, 2018.

Independent candidates for those county offices can also pick up petitions beginning Friday.

Republican candidates will be selected by a party caucus.

Independent and Republican candidates must also qualify by Noon February 15.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree