Fifty Four Students Receive Scholarships on DCHS Senior Awards Night

May 20, 2014
Dwayne Page
Mallory Sullivan received the largest single scholarship award of $115,000 from Belmont University
Class of 2014 Scholarship Winners
Kelsi Glenn Receives Perfect Attendance Award

Almost $660,000 in scholarships were awarded to members of the Class of 2014 at DeKalb County High School during Monday night's annual Senior Awards program.

Representatives of colleges, universities, branches of the armed services, businesses, civic groups, and other organizations made the presentations.

Mallory Sullivan received the largest single scholarship award of $115,000 from Belmont University where she will play golf. Kelsi Glenn received a perfect attendance award for not missing a day of school during her four years of high school.

Sullivan was among fifty four students who received scholarships.

Those students and their award amounts listed in alphabetical order according to last names are as follows:

Peter Antoniak: Tennessee Tech University-$20,000

Hannah Ball: DeKalb PTO-$250; Tennessee Tech University-$4,000

Zachary Bandy: Elzie and Nell McBride Memorial-$500

Ashley Barnes: Brandon Elder Scholarship-$4,000; Clyde Thomas Family Trust-$500: Harding University-$38,000; Tennessee Tech University-$20,000

Hudson Beltz: US Army Enlistment-$40,000

Chelsey Brannon: Cookeville Regional Medical Center and Pepsi-$1,000; David Wayne Alexander Memorial-$1,000; Tennessee Wesleyan-$58,000

Erika Brown: DeKalb Funeral Chapel-$500; Smithville Business and Professional Women's Club-$500

Hannah Cantrell: Fraternal Order of Police-$500; US Marine Semper Fidelis Award

James Robert Cantrell: DeKalb Firefighters Association Scholarship-$500

Taylor Cantrell: DeKalb County Children Service Council Clata Redmon Memorial-$500; Smithville Rotary Club-$750

Kayna Caplinger: MTSU-$8,000

Morgan Clark: Nelda Barnes Memorial-$2,000

Lauren Colwell: Anthony Duane Trapp Memorial- $500; Smithville Rotary Club-$750; Trevecca Nazarene-$40,030

Alexis Cornelius: DeKalb Funeral Chapel-$500

Briana Cutliff: DeKalb County Children Service Council Clata Redmon Memorial-$500

Josh Davidson: Mentors Association Scholarship-$5,000

Gatlin Dougherty: Clyde Thomas Family Trust Scholarship-$500

Hunter Eckert: Embry Riddle Aeronautical University-$35,200

Sarah Edwards: Clay Edwards Memorial Tiger Pride Scholarship-$500; Eddie Crips Memorial Scholarship-$500

Alli Emme: Liberty State Bank-$1,000; Smithville Women's Club-$500

Kelsey Evins: DCHS Beta Scholarship-$500; DCHS Literature Club-$500; DeKalb Funeral Chapel-$500; Ned McWherter Scholarship-$24,000; Smithville Rotary Math Award-$100; Vanderbilt University-$40,380

Kalab Ferrell: Class of 1966-$500; Class of 2004-$650; DeKalb Funeral Chapel-$500; Jolly Angels-$2,000; Smithville Rotary Vocational Award-$100

Travis Ferrell: Kenny & Kyle Robinson Memorial-$1,000; Mentors Association Scholarship-$5,000

Conner Giddens: DeKalb Soil Conservation District-$500; MTSU-$12,000; Young Farmers Association-$500

Eli Gill: Leadership DeKalb Award

Kelsi Glenn: Love-Cantrell Funeral Home-$500

Kaylee Hale: Jolly Angels-$2,000

Magan Johnson: Fortis Institute-$9,000

Nicholas Johnson: Fraternal Order of Police-$500

Kaitlynn Jones: DeKalb Funeral Chapel-$500

Lauren Lewis: Jolly Angels-$1,000; Smithville Business and Professional Women's Club-$500; US Marines Scholar Award

Eli Lomas: CIC Foundation (Motlow State)- $2,200; DeKalb Community Hospital-$500; US Army Athlete Award

Kelsey MacDonald: Agee Oil- $1,500

Elizabeth Mason: DeKalb PTO-$250: DeKalb Retired Teachers Association-$750; Jolly Angels-$1,000; Tennessee Tech University-$15,000

Ashley Medlin: Love-Cantrell Funeral Home-$500

Brittany Merriman: Dailey & Vincent Scholarship-$1,000

McKenzie Poteete: Central High School Alumni-$5,000; Nell Haas Driver Scholarship-$1,000; US Marines Athlete Award

Laura Reed: First Bank-$500; Smithville Rotary Club-$750; Tennessee Tech University-$8,000; Woodman of the World $50 History Award

Cameron Rhea: US Marines Scholar Award

Courtney Rice: DCHS Literature Club-$500; Kenny & Kyle Robinson Memorial-$1,000; UT Knoxville- $30,280

Ethan Roller: David Wayne Alexander Memorial-$1,000

Samantha Sircy: Jolly Angels-$2,000; Smithville Rotary Club-$750

Emily Snow: Tennessee Tech University-$4,000

Mallory Sullivan: Belmont University-$115,000

Shauna Taylor: DeKalb Funeral Chapel-$500; DeKalb Physicians-$500

Kalynn Thompson: AmVets-$250; AmVets Auxiliary- $250; Brandon Elder Scholarship-$2,000

Jordan Alex Turner: MTSU-$500

Danielle Tyson: Jolly Angels-$4,000; Trevecca Nazarene-$23,500; US Army Athlete Award

Crystal Vickers: Comcast- $1,000; DCHS Beta Scholarship-$500; DCHS Student Council-$200; DTC McAllen Foutch Memorial-$8,000; FCCLA-$250; Jolly Angels-$1,000; Lucille Stewart Memorial-$2,000; DeKalb County Scottish Rite-$1,000; Young Farmers Association-$500

Taylor Youngblood: DeKalb Funeral Chapel-$500

Dylan Young: Arizona State-$28,000; Daily & Vincent Scholarship-$1,000

Jordan Wilkins: DCHS Student Council-$200; Allen D. Hooper Memorial-$500; Leadership DeKalb Award

Dillon Williams: US Marines Athlete Award

Justin Wiser: Tennessee Tech University-$800

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree