Essay Winners Recognized at DeKalb West DARE Graduation

May 22, 2014
Dwayne Page
DARE Essay Winners Jordan Crook and Riley Overstreet
Tish Summers presents check to DARE Essay winner Jordan Crook

Fifth graders at DeKalb West School received pins and certificates during the annual DARE graduation ceremony held Thursday.

The Drug Abuse Resistance Education program was conducted by DARE Instructor and Chief Deputy Don Adamson of the DeKalb County Sheriff's Department.

Each student prepares an essay during the course and those with the best essays from each class are recognized and awarded. This year's essay winners at DeKalb West School are Jordan Crook and Riley Overstreet . The fifth grade teachers are Jeana Caplinger and Nadina Manganiello.

Crook was the over-all winner and he read his essay during Thursday's program. In addition to the award, prizes, and recognition, Crook gets to keep "Daren the Lion" the DARE Mascot and he received a $50 check from Judge Bratten Cook II, presented in his absence by Tish Summers.

In addition to Sheriff Patrick Ray and Chief Deputy Adamson, others on hand for the ceremony were DeKalb West School Principal Danny Parkerson, Director of Schools Mark Willoughby, Circuit Court Clerk Katherine Pack, Register of Deeds Jeff McMillen and employees of the Sheriff's Department

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree