Eighth Graders Graduate at DeKalb West School

May 26, 2013
Bill Conger

Caitlyn Lawrence walked away with the most awards at the DeKalb West School 8th grade graduation ceremony on May 21. Lawrence had the highest average from Cynthia Preston’s homeroom in Math, Science, History, Literature, and English. Her peers also chose her for one of the Citizenship awards. From Melanie Molander’s homeroom Hunter Robinson had the highest average in Science, History, and Spelling while Maegan Harris was tops in Math and English and Bailey Redmon had the highest average in Literature. Kayley Caplinger from Preston’s homeroom won the Spelling award.

In addition to Lawrence, other Citizenship Award winners were Alex King and Bailey Redmon from Molander’s class and Alex Steel from Preston’s room. James Mathis was picked for the Georgia Young award, named in honor of the beloved late DWS Cafeteria Manager. Four students didn’t miss a single day of school. Rosa Payne, Jacob Billings, Hunter Robinson, and Caitlyn Lawrence won awards for Perfect Attendance.

Junior Beta Club students were recognized for their service to the school and community. Club President Casey Vickers had 58.75 hours, Bailey Redmon earned 45 hours, Maegan Harris earned 26 hours, Treasurer Madison Butler earned 22.75 hours, Secretary Rosa Payne had 23.25 hours, Vice President Caitlyn Lawrence had 22.25 hours, Paige Snider earned 15 hours, Peyton Frazier served 6.75 hours, Jayra Plattenburg scored 6.25 hours, Kaylee Braswell had 6 hours and Haleigh Bass earned 4.5 hours.

Forty-three students graduated from 8th grade. Students graduating from Molander’s homeroom were Kendra Aucoin, Myranda Bailiff, Zackrey Bass, Madison Butler, Kassey Collier, Maegan Harris, Jesse Houser, John Kelly, Alex King, Preston Lemons, Wyatt Martin, James Mathis, Brandon Peoples, Bailey Redmon, Hunter Robinson, D.J. Shuster, Drake Staten, Donavon Thompson, Casey Vickers, Payton Williams, and Tori Young. Students graduating from Cynthia Preston’s homeroom were Matthew Alderman, Haleigh Bass, Jacob Billings, Kaylee Braswell, Kayley Caplinger, Cody Curtis, Seth Dawson, Makayla Anne Easterwood, Destinie Edge, Eli England, Peyton Frazier, Hailey Glass, Caitlyn Lawrence, Reina Majano, Rosa Payne, Jayra Plattenburg, Brandy Rock, Paige Snyder, Renee Starnes, Alex Steel, Abigail Sutherland, and Reagan Taylor.

DeKalb County Register of Deeds Jeff McMillen was the keynote speaker.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree