Eighth Graders Graduate from DeKalb Middle School

May 21, 2013
Allison Rogers with Amanda Dakas for highest GPA
Director of Schools Mark Willoughby
DCHS Valedictorian Taylor Leach
DMS graduates
Perfect attendance students
Wanda Poss presenting Clay Hoyle with the Woodmen of the World award

DeKalb Middle School held their eighth grade graduation ceremony on Tuesday, May 21st, at 9:00 a.m. The event began with 8th grader Steven Jennings giving the invocation. Fellow 8th grade student, Erica Birmingham, then sang a song that she had written for the event entitled “High School Doesn’t Know What’s Coming”. Principal Randy Jennings welcomed everyone and introduced Superintendent of Schools Mark Willoughby.

Mr. Willoughby gave an inspiring speech to the students and encouraged them to live their dreams. Mrs. Lori Hendrix then recognized all Jr. Beta members with a certificate, and the officers were given a plague. Mrs. Tonya Sullivan asked for all Student Council members to stand and be recognized. She also gave 8th grader Susan Webb a plague for leading Student Council.

Mr. Bryan Jones gave the special FCA award to student Jordan Richmond for his dedication and participation with the club. Mrs. Ashley Barnes awarded the yearbook staff with a certificate. Mrs. Karen Pelham then recognized all students who had received a nine week award by asking them to stand.

Assistant Principal Mrs. Amanda Dakas handed out the Computer, Perfect Attendance, and Citizenship awards. Computer awards were given to Kallie Petty, Lexi Bates, and Jayrah Trapp. Those students who received the Perfect Attendance awards were Luke Green, Kallie Petty, Taylor Spare, Adam Ferrell, Diamond McClanahan, and Clay Hoyle. Mrs. Dakas then introduced Mrs. Wanda Poss who presented the Woodmen of the World award to student Clay Hoyle.

Mrs. Dakas then presented the subject area awards which were given to the following students: English- Kallie Petty and Hali Huang, Math- Rachel Fuson and Luke Green, Reading- Taylor Spare, Maddie Dickens, Katherine Parsley, Baylee Phillips, Kristen Parsley, and Lexi Bates, Science- Allison Rogers and Adam Ferrell, and Social Studies- Jayrah Trapp, Sahara Lafever, and Samantha Jarvis.

A Special Recognition Award was presented by Mr. Jennings to Simon Ngure for the integrity and character that he displayed this school year. Top 10 GPA awards were then given by Mr. Jennings. The following students had the highest GPA (in order): 1. Allison Rogers, 2. Jayrah Trapp, 3. Rachel Fuson, 4. Kristen Parsley, 5. Baylee Phillips, 6. Lane Poss, 7. Katherine Parsley, 8. Callie Cripps, 9. Adam Ferrell, 10. Gentry Harpole.

DCHS Valedictorian Taylor Leach gave an encouraging and humorous speech. Diplomas were then presented to all 8th graders, and Mr. Jennings gave the closing remarks.

(Pictured above are are: Allison Rogers with Amanda Dakas for highest GPA
Director of Schools Mark Willoughby giving a speech,
DCHS Valedictorian Taylor Leach giving his speech,
DMS graduates
Perfect attendance students- Luke Green, Adam Ferrell, Clay Hoyle, Diamond McClanahan, Kallie Petty, and Taylor Spare
Wanda Poss presenting Clay Hoyle with the Woodmen of the World award)

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree