Smithville Municipal Election to be Contested

March 15, 2012
Dwayne Page
Taft Hendrixson
Jimmy W. Poss
Scott Davis
Jason Judd Murphy
Tim Stribling
Steve White

Smithville Mayor Taft Hendrixson will be challenged for re-election again this year.

Hendrixson, who is seeking his fourth term, will face opposition from Jimmy W. Poss, who currently serves as a seventh district county commissioner in the city election on Tuesday, June 19th.

Hendrixson was first elected mayor in 2006 and he was re-elected in 2008 and 2010.

Poss will be making his first attempt at an elected city public office.

Meanwhile, Incumbent Alderman Stephen White is seeking re-election. Also in the race for alderman are Scott Davis, Jason Judd Murphy, and Tim Stribling.

White was first elected in 2000 and will be looking for his seventh term as alderman.

Davis, Murphy, and Stribling are making their first runs for elected public office.

A mayor and two aldermen will be elected on June 19th. Each term is for two years. The terms of office for those elected will begin on July 1st.

Noon today (Thursday, March 15th) was the qualifying deadline.

Incumbent Alderman Cecil Burger is not seeking re-election. Burger will be ending his career as a city public official, completing his third term as alderman this summer. He was first elected to that office in 2006. Prior to that, Burger served as Mayor from 1990 to 2006, a total of eight terms. He also formerly worked for the city, having served 23 years as the city secretary-treasurer and at one time, city judge.

Early voting for the Smithville Municipal Election will be May 30 through June 14. Meanwhile, May 21 is the voter registration deadline for the Smithville City Election.

Voters who don't live in Smithville but own property in the city may vote in the municipal election under certain conditions.

The Smithville Charter allows Property Rights Voting. The property must be a minimum of
7500 square feet and the person owning the property must reside in DeKalb County. Proof of ownership and residence must be shown by the following means: (1) A certified copy of the deed and the execution of an affidavit that the person still owns this property and (2) A copy of the most recent DeKalb County real property tax notice, and (3) Proof of residence in DeKalb County. Property rights registrants are entitled to vote but not to hold any municipal office or serve on any municipal board or commission. Proof of ownership and registration form must be provided to the Election Commission office by the May 21 registration deadline.

Meanwhile, Administrator of Elections Dennis Stanley reminds voters who have moved since registering to vote that the election commission office needs your current address on file.

"Updating the record is a simple process. All the voter needs to do is fill out a change of address form, which is available at the election commission office," said Stanley. To see if you need to update your record, simply check the address on your voter registration card. If it is different than your current address, you need to update the information with the election commission."

"Updating the address will make your voting experience go much easier and quicker." Stanley said," and will not slow down the line at the polling place during early voting or election day."

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree