Graduation Ceremony Held for Leadership DeKalb Class of 2011

June 24, 2011
Leadership DeKalb Class of 2011

Leadership DeKalb Class of 2011 graduation was held on Thursday, June 23rd at the 303 North Public Square Building, Smithville. After a welcome from Leadership Director Jen Sherwood and Chamber President Kathie McGlamery, the invocation was given by John Quintero.

The night's guest speakers were Leadership DeKalb Alumni Association’s 2010 Leadership Legacy Award recipients, John and Kay Quintero and the Community Leader of 2010 recipient, Casey Midgett. John Quintero talked about “Leaving a Legacy” and caring for each individual in our community. Casey Midgett spoke on the topic "Leading and Serving Our Community;” reminding class members to do more and talk less and strive to be #3, after God and others.

The class provided an overview of the year's sessions through a PowerPoint slide show depicted each month’s speakers and activities. Class President Beth Gill announced the class project of assisting the Little League in the development of their new ballfield.

Leadership Director Jen Sherwood and Chamber Director Suzanne Williams presented the graduating class with plaques. Leadership Alumni President Richard Kinsey closed with final words of encouragement to continue giving back to the community as graduates of Leadership DeKalb.

Leadership DeKalb is a 10-month program designed to bring together individuals who desire increased leadership responsibility in improving the quality of life in DeKalb County, and train these citizens with knowledge, skills and an increased awareness of opportunities so that they are involved, effective and active leaders. Each summer, applications are accepted for the next year's class. Participation is open to any who lives or works in DeKalb County and who has a desire to contribute to positive change in DeKalb County. For more information, contact Jen Sherwood at 597-4851 or the chamber office at 597-4163.

Pictured L to R
Leadership Director Jen Sherwood, Dalton Fish, Susan Young, Charlene Adcock, Class Secretary Misty Poss, Class President Beth Gill, Jana Crook, Patricia Hoover, Tim Price

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree