2012 Political Season on the Horizon

August 25, 2011
Dwayne Page

The political campaigns will be firing up again in a few months.

The 2012 election season will begin with the Tennessee Presidential Preference Primaries in March and although no official announcement has yet been made, the DeKalb County Democratic Primary will mostly likely be held in March to coincide with the Presidential primaries.

On the local scene, the office of Assessor of Property will be up for election along with all seven constable positions. Each of the terms is for four years. In 2008, Assessor of Property Timothy Fud Banks was re-elected while those elected as constable were Reed Edge in the second district, Wayne Vanderpool in the third district, Paul Cantrell in the fourth district, Mark Milam in the fifth district, Cantrell Jones in the sixth district, and Johnny King in the seventh district. No one was elected in the first district.

While the local Democratic Party will be selecting its nominees through the primary process, the DeKalb County Republican Party will choose any nominees it has by convention.

Any Republican and Democratic nominees for the offices of Assessor of Property and Constable will face off in the August 2012 DeKalb County General Election.

Meanwhile, school board members will be elected from the fifth and sixth districts in the DeKalb County General Election in August, 2012. Each term is for four years. W.J. (Dub) Evins, III is the fifth district school board member and Bruce Parsley represents the sixth district. School board members do not run as party nominees but as non-partisan candidates.

Meanwhile, the offices of State Representative, U.S. Congressman, and U.S. Senator will also be up for election in 2012. The positions are currently held by State Representative Terri Lynn Weaver, Congressman Diane Black, and U.S. Senator Bob Corker. Nominees for these offices will be selected in the Tennessee Democratic and Republican primaries in August and will run against each other in the Tennessee General Election in November, 2012. The terms of office for State Representative and U.S. Congressman are for two years and six years for U.S. Senator. The Presidential election will also be held in November 2012

In Smithville, a Mayor and two aldermen will be elected in the municipal election next June. Those positions are currently held by Mayor Taft Hendrixson and Aldermen Steve White and Cecil Burger.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree