Weaver, Beavers Re-elected; Black, and Haslam also Win

November 2, 2010
Dwayne Page
State Representative Terri Lynn Weaver
State Senator Mae Beavers
Congresswoman-Elect Diane Black

State Representative Terri Lynn Weaver lost DeKalb County by 335 votes but carried Smith and Macon Counties enroute to re-election to a second term and a victory over her Democratic opponent James C. Hale and Independent candidate Pleas Ford.

In DeKalb County, Hale received a total of 2,564 votes (52.8%) to Weaver's 2,229 votes (45.9%) and Ford's 59 votes. Hale carried nine precincts including Alexandria, Church of Christ Annex, Courthouse, Dowelltown, Edgar Evins State Park, Elementary School, Keltonburg, Middle School, and Temperance Hall. Hale also had a majority of the combined early votes/absentees. Weaver carried Blue Springs, Cherry Hill, Johnson's Chapel, Liberty, Rock Castle, and Snow Hill. Hale and Weaver tied at Belk with 56 votes each.

District-wide, Weaver won with a total of 8,369 votes to 6,680 for Hale and 221 for Ford.
In Macon County, Weaver defeated Hale 3,120 to 1,588. Ford had 90 votes
In Smith County, Weaver won with 3,020 votes to 2,528 for Hale and 72 for Ford.



Meanwhile, State Senator Mae Beavers cruised to re-election beating Democratic challenger George McDonald. Beavers carried five of the seven counties in the 17th State Senatorial District. District-wide Beavers won with 35,747 votes to 21,332 for McDonald.

In DeKalb County Beavers received 2,571 votes (55.9%) to 2,025 (44%) for McDonald.

Beavers carried all precincts in DeKalb County except the Church of Christ Annex, where she lost by only 10 votes. She also carried a majority of the combined early votes/absentees.

In the 6th District Congressional race, Republican Diane Black was elected beating Democrat Brett Carter. Black also won in DeKalb County 2,633 (57.7%) to 1,694 (37.1%) for Carter. Black carried all sixteen precincts in DeKalb County and she had a majority of the combined early votes/absentees. Independent candidates with DeKalb County votes included Jim Boyd with 35, Brandon E. Gore 28, Tommy N. Hay 101, David Purcell 35, and Stephen R. Sprague with 26 votes.

Republican Bill Haslam will be the next Governor of Tennessee. He carried all sixteen precincts in DeKalb County and had a majority of the combined early votes/absentees in beating his Democratic opponent Mike McWherter 2,870 (58.3%) to 1,947 (39.6%) Independent candidates for Governor with DeKalb County votes include Bayron Binkley with 18, Brandon Dodds 9, Samuel David Duck 8, David Gatchell 3, June Griffin 2, Toni K. Hall 3, Mike Knois 6, Boyce T. McCall 5, Donald Ray McFolin 7, Linda Kay Perry 5, James Reesor 1, Thomas Smith, II 2, Howard M. Switzer 9, and Carl Twofeathers Whitaker 19.

DeKalb County voters also favored passage of a state Constitutional Amendment guaranteeing the right to hunt and fish in Tennessee. The ballot question prevailed in all sixteen precincts in DeKalb County and received a vast majority of the combined early votes/absentees with 3,791 (93.5%) voting "yes" and 263 (6.4%) voting "no"

A total of 5,009 people voted in DeKalb County including 2,008 early voters/absentees combined and 3,001 on election day.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree