Smithville Mayor and Aldermen-Elect Take Oath of Office

June 29, 2010
Dwayne Page
Smithville Mayor Taft Hendrixson
Alderman Stephen White
Alderman Cecil Burger
Judge Bratten Cook II

Smithville Mayor Taft Hendrixson and Aldermen Stephen White and Cecil Burger, re-elected on June 15th, were sworn into office to begin their new two year terms Tuesday evening during a special meeting of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen at city hall.

General Sessions Court Judge Bratten Cook II administered the oath of office.

After the swearing in ceremony, Mayor Hendrixson appointed each of the alderman as commissioner of a city department.

The appointments are as follows:

Steve White-Vice Mayor and Commissioner of Water and Sewer
Shawn Jacobs- Commissioner of Finance and Taxation
W.J. (Dub) White- Commissioner of Sanitation
Cecil Burger- Commissioner of Streets and Safety
Aaron Meeks - Commissioner of the Police and Fire Departments

Mayor Hendrixson also appointed citizen representatives and aldermen to serve on various city boards.

Hoyte Barrett was re-appointed to a new six year term and Alderman Steve White was re-named to a new two year term on the city planning commission.

Anthony Hagan was re-appointed to a new four year term as a citizen member and Alderman Cecil Burger was chosen again to a new two year term on the Smithville Electric System Board.

Alderman Cecil Burger got a new two year term on the city beer board

Alderman Steve White was re-appointed to a new term on the 911 board.

The aldermen unanimously approved the mayor's appointments.

In other business, the aldermen adopted a continuing budget resolution to keep city government operating beyond June 30th until a new budget is approved.

The mayor and aldermen will not be meeting on Monday, July 5th because of the holiday weekend. Their next regularly scheduled meeting is set for Monday, July 19th at 7:00 p.m. at city hall.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree