Graduation Ceremony Held for Leadership DeKalb Class of 2010

June 23, 2010
Suzanne Williams
Leadership DeKalb Class of 2010 (Photo by Suzanne Williams)

The Leadership DeKalb Class of 2010 graduation was held on Tuesday at the 303 North Public Square Building, Smithville. After a welcome from Leadership Director Jen Sherwood and Chamber President Tim Hintz, the invocation was given by class member Shirley Ingram. Special music for the evening was provided by James and Dorothy Hayes and class member Jackie Smith. The night's guest speakers were Leadership DeKalb Alumni Association 2009 Community Leader of the Year, Laura Stone, and the 2009 Leadership Legacy Award recipient, Judy Sandlin. Laura spoke on the topic "Helping Others” while Judy talked about “The Importance of Community Volunteerism.”

Class president Twana Green led the class overview of the year's sessions. A PowerPoint slide show assembled by class members Rita Bell and Abigail Laprad depicted each month’s speakers and activities. Leadership Director Jen Sherwood and Chamber Director Suzanne Williams presented the graduating class with plaques. Leadership Alumni President Shawn Jacobs closed with final words of encouragement to continue giving back to the community as graduates of Leadership DeKalb.

Leadership DeKalb is a 10-month program designed to bring together individuals who desire increased leadership responsibility in improving the quality of life in DeKalb County, and train these citizens with knowledge, skills and an increased awareness of opportunities so that they are involved, effective and active leaders. Each summer, applications are accepted for the next year's class. Participation is open to any who lives or works in DeKalb County and who has a desire to contribute to positive change in DeKalb County. For more information, contact Jen Sherwood at 597-4851 or the chamber office at 597-4163.

(Pictured left to right: Front row: Jen Sherwood, LD Director; Shirley Lockhart Ingram, Author; Mary Ann Smithson, Middle Tennessee Urology Specialists; Twana Green, DTC Wireless; Lori Manns, Manns Master Mechanics
Back row: Betty Turner, Artist; Kiki Brown, The Real Estate Team; Jackie Smith, State Farm Insurance; Rita Bell, Haven of Hope Counseling; Abigail C. Laprad, DCHS student/Smithville Rotary Club; Jennifer K. Butts, OIC Designs.)

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree