Farm Service Agency Committee Elections

November 3, 2010
Dwayne Page

Election ballots for the DeKalb County Farm Service Agency’s local committee election will be mailed to all eligible voters in Local Administrative Area # 3 on Friday, November 5. Ballots must be completed and returned in person or postmarked no later than December 6, 2010.

Donny Green, County Executive Director of the DeKalb County Farm Service Agency, says the farmer-elected committee is your voice in USDA’s programs here in DeKalb County. Members of the committee work with area farmers to maintain the local focus on many USDA programs, inform people of what’s available, and help producers understand how the programs work. Committee members work to help shape national programs into working local programs.

Timmie Adcock was nominated as a candidate and will be the only candidate listed on the ballot. Write-in nominations are accepted and should be written on the official ballot. All candidates must meet eligibility requirements to hold the office on the Committee.

Once eligible voters receive their ballots, careful attention should be given to the instructions provided on the ballot that outline proper procedures for voting in this election. Voters can vote for only 1 nominee listed, or can write-in only 1 eligible candidate on the ballot. A return envelope is provided to seal the ballot. After the voted ballot is placed inside the return envelope, the voter must sign the address label affixed to the outside of the return envelope. Voted ballots can be mailed back to the DeKalb County FSA, or can be hand delivered to the FSA.

“It’s vitally important that we have good participation in our County Committee Elections. We need all eligible voters to take the time to vote and return their ballots. This sends a strong message that our local farmers support the farmer-elected committee system,” says Green. Ballots will be opened and tabulated in a public meeting at the DeKalb County USDA Service Center, located at 647 Bright Hill Rd. in Smithville, at 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, December 7. Contact the DeKalb County FSA office at 597-8225, ext. 2 for more information.

FSA committee elections are open to all voters without regard to race, color, religion, national origin, age, sex, marital status, or disability.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree