Two Running for Mayor-Four for Alderman in Smithville Election

March 20, 2008
Dwayne Page

Two candidates will be in the race for mayor and four candidates will be seeking one of two alderman seats in the Smithville Municipal Election June 17th.

Incumbent Smithville Mayor Taft Hendrixson will be challenged for re-election by Faye Driver Fuqua

The candidates for aldermen include Incumbents Stephen White and Cecil Burger and challengers Danny Washer and Alford Webber.

The qualifying deadline was noon Thursday, March 20th

In other election news, four candidates have qualified to run for Alderman in the Liberty City Election on August 7th.

Three Aldermen will be elected in Liberty. Those positions are currently held by Jerry Johnson, Paul Neal, and Dwight Mathis. Johnson, Mathis, and Neal have qualified to seek another term. Todd Dodd will also be in the race.

The Dowelltown City Election will also be held on August 7th to elect a mayor and two aldermen.

The positions in Dowelltown are currently held by Mayor Gerald Bailiff and Aldermen Joe Bogle and Jr. Bratten.

The first candidate to qualify for alderman is Elizabeth A. Redmon of Dowelltown.

The qualifying deadline for both the Dowelltown and Liberty elections is 12 noon on April 17th and the last day to register to vote is July 8th.

Two school board members will be elected on August 7th.

The positions are currently held by W.J. (Dub) Evins III in the fifth district and Linda Fuston in the sixth district.

Evins and Fuston have not yet qualified but intend to be a candidates for re-election.

The qualifying deadline to run for those positions is noon on Thursday, April 3rd.

April 3rd at noon is also the qualifying deadline for candidates for State Representative. The Democratic and Republican Primaries for the office will be August 7th and the General Election is in November.

Democratic candidates who have qualified with the DeKalb County Election Commission for State Representative include Jeff Barrett, Gayla C. Hendrix, and Cleveland Derrick Bain of DeKalb County, and Dean Sircy and Carl (Hix) Jones both of Westmoreland.

Nicky Rittenberry of Lafayette and Terri Lynn Weaver of Lancaster have qualified to run in the Republican Primary for State Representative.

Meanwhile Ray Amalfitano of Dixon Springs will be an Independent candidate for State Representative in the November 4th General Electon.

DeKalb, Smith, and Macon Counties make up the 40th legislative district.

Incumbent Democratic State Representative Frank Buck is not seeking re-election.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree