Seniors Honored for Academic and Athletic Achievement

May 16, 2008
Dwayne Page

In addition to scholarships, members of the Class of 2008 received other special honors for academic and athletic achievement during Thursday's annual Senior Awards Day Program at DeKalb County High School.

The honor students were recognized including the Class Valedictorian, Nick Winchester and the
Salutatorian, Adam Emerson

Students earning "Distinction" with a grade point average of 3.2 to 3.59 are as follows: Brittney Armour, Carla Barnes, Alisha Billings, Chase Cantrell, Tyler Cantrell, Joseph Carroll, Brent Collier, Roger Curtis, Justin Duke, Michael Elliott, Lindsy Ervin, Amber Evans, Chase Ferrell, Trey Finley, Grant Goodwin, Josh Gilbert, Lauren Hansard, Natasha Hendrixson, Katie Herman, Jake Hoover, Justin Lattimore, Jacob Moore, Trisha Neiberger, Lacey Parchman, Shaun Reed, Zack Rowland, Colt Stewart, Emily Summers
Cody Thomas, Nique Tubbs, Corey Turner, Anna Marie Walker, GeriAnna Wilson, and Kevin Woodside.

Students earning "High Distinction" with a GPA of 3.6 to 3.79 are as follows: Josh Cantrell, Mykel Cantrell, Dustin Estes, Kayla Fish, Dustin Hood, Dustin Jennings, Steven McCormick, Jessica Paschal, Colton Rhody
Tyler Robinson, and Travis Woodward.

Students earning "Highest Distinction" with a GPA of 3.8 to 4.0 are as follows: Lacey Beshearse, Jessica Dyer, Adam Emerson, Daniel Foutch, Jessica Harney, John Malone, Hope Martin, Tayla Turner, Nick Winchester, Tyler Woods, and Ryan Young

Tennessee Scholars were also recognized.

The Tennessee Scholars Program is designed to recognize students who have maintained good academic, disciplinary and attendance standards. It's also designed to recognize students who take a more rigorous and challenging course of study in high school. They must take challenging classes above and beyond what is required for college entrance and graduation. These students have also volunteered at least 20 hours of community service in our community. Because the Tennessee Scholars Program is designed to be a partnership between the school and business community, the DeKalb County Education Foundation, for the last three years, has provided the medallions given to the Tennessee Scholars.

Tennessee Scholars are as follows: Lacey Beshearse, Kristel Bush, Tyler Cantrell, Josh Cantrell,
Casey Curtis, Justin Duke, Adam Emerson, Lindsey Ervin, Dustin Estes, Chase Ferrell, Trey Finley, Kayla Fish, Daniel Foutch, Tiffany Frazier, Lauren Hansard, Jessica Harney, Natasha Hendrixson, Katie Herman, Dustin Hood, Dustin Jennings, John Malone, Jacob Moore, Bray Page, Colton Rhody, Tyler Robinson, Jennifer Rogers, Colt Stewart, Brian Trapp, Nique Tubbs
Tayla Turner, Justin Vanatta, Anna Marie Walker, Susan Walls, GeriAnna Wilson, Nick Winchester, Tyler Woods, Travis Woodward, and Ryan Young

Other award winners are as follows:

Outstanding Students of America- Tayla Turner
Tennessee 4-H Council- Travis Woodward, Chase Ferrell, and Dustin Hood
Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizen- Tayla Turner
U.S. Marines Semper Fidelis- Emily Summers
U.S. Marine-Scholastic Excellence- Adam Emerson and Tayla Turner
U.S. Marine-Distinguished Athletes- Grant Goodwin and Lauren Hansard

U.S. Army National Scholar Athletes- Tyler Robinson and Jessica Harney

Leadership DeKalb- Chase Ferrell and Tyler Woods

English Department Awards- Bridgette Linder, Jessica Dyer, James Gibbs, Alisha Billings, Jennifer Rogers, and Nick Byrge

Business Department Award- Travis Woodward

Motlow Dual Enrollment Math Award- Adam Emerson and Lacey Beshearse

Economics Award- Adam Emerson, Dustin Hood, Travis Woodward, and Tyler Woods

Physics Award- John Malone and Adam Emerson

Database Award- Ryan Young

Journalism Award- Nique Tubbs, GeriAnna Wilson, Brent Collier, James Harden, Shane Mims, and Brelle Seals

Vocal Music Award- Chase Ferrell and Anna Marie Walker

FFA Award- Casey Belcher, Tyler Cripps, Jeff Puckett, Jessica Dyer, Jessica Ray, and Lacey Parchman

FCCLA Award- Corey Turner and Alisha Billings

Student Council Awards- Nick Winchester, Abby Cantrell, Chase Cantrell, Chase Ferrell, Lindsy Ervin, Dustin Hood, GeriAnna Wilson, Tyler Woods, Jessica Harney, and Katie Herman

Chemistry Award- Adam Emerson

Rotary Math- Tayla Turner
Rotary Vocational- Jeremy Eakes

Mrs. Linda Paris' Textile Class presented quilts made by members of the class to the family of the late Debbie Parchman.

Three teachers of the year, chosen by the faculty, were also recognized including Harriett Cantrell, Charlotte Wruble, and Mary Anne Carpenter.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree