Four Retiring Teachers Honored by Board of Education

May 8, 2008
Dwayne Page

The DeKalb County Board of Education Thursday night honored four teachers who are retiring at the close of the school year.

Pam Vanatta and Sherry Bush of DeKalb Middle School and Carol Hale and Donna Davis of DeKalb West School were presented plaques of appreciation by Director of Schools Mark Willoughby for their dedication to the local school system.

Davis has been an educator for 42 years, Vanatta 40 years, Bush 32 plus years, and Hale 30 years.

Teachers who were recently granted tenure were also recognized including Ana Bain, Layra Crook, Donna Emmons, Holly Espinosa, Christina Ontiveros, Kristy Parsley, Karen Pelham, Bethany Rigsby, Fredrick Sanders, Lori Sexton, Amy Tobitt, Steve Trapp, Betsye Walker, and Vicki Wilson. Some of those teachers were not present during the meeting.

Meanwhile in other business, Director Willoughby has announced that he has employed the DeKalb County Support Staff for the 2008-2009 school year.

He presented the list of employees to the Board of Education Thursday night.

Those employed at DeKalb County High School are:

Rena Adcock- Cook, Linda Avveduti- Vocational Rehabilitation Secretary, Jean Bandy-Cook, Richard Bullard- Custodian, Santos Caballero- Cook, Kathy Chapman-Cook, Billy Colwell- Custodian, Kenderly Cripps- Guidance/Records Clerk, Debbie Eaton- Educational Assistant, Regina Estes- Secretary, Beverly Ferrell- Educational Assistant, Dena Haugh- Educational Assistant, Faye Hendrix- Vocational Secretary, Jerry Herman- Custodian, Melissa Hicks- Cook, Helen LaFevre-Cook, Rita Leichtfuss- Educational Assistant, Deborah Magness- Bookkeeper, Rhonda Merriman-Educational Assistant, JoAnn Pittman-Custodian, Rob Robinson-Educational Assistant, Rachel Seal- Educational Assistant, Beverly Starnes-Cook, Suzanne Williams-Educational Assistant, Jamie Wright- Educational Assistant, and Debbie Young-Cafeteria Manager.

DeKalb Middle School:

Rita Beshearse- Part Time Library Assistant/Part Time Cafeteria Monitor, Helen Burt- Cook, Helen Cantrell-Cook, Fay Gilreath- School Bookkeeper, Connie Haggard- Cook, Truitt Hale- Custodian, Murinna Herman- Custodian, Barbara Hibdon- Cook, Rita Johnson-Cook, Molly Johnson-Educational Assistant, Samantha Lester- School Secretary, Reba Malone- Custodian, Paulette McDonald- Educational Assistant, Lisa Norton- Educational Assistant, Dianne Page- Educational Assistant, Julie Pugh- Educational Assistant, and Eldon Vanatta- Cafeteria Manager, .

Smithville Elementary School:

Jennifer Agee- Educational Assistant, Austin Bain-Custodian, Jimmy Barnes- Custodian, Wendy Bowling- Educational Assistant, Pauline Braswell- Educational Assistant, Brenda Crook-Educational Assistant, Barbara Ervin- Cafeteria Manager, Darlene Evans-Educational Assistant, Jennifer Gay- Educational Assistant, Betty Griffith- Educational Assistant, Jean Hayes- Cook, Vickie Jeffries- Educational Assistant, Angela Johnson- Educational Assistant, Natasha Judkins- Educational Assistant, Melinda Lattimore- Educational Assistant, Sara Lomas-Custodian, Patricia Milam- Part Time Cafeteria Monitor/Substitute Custodian, Dori Mooneyham- Educational Assistant, Freda Pedigo- Cook, Rhonda Pelham- Secretary/Receptionist, Amelia Phillips- Cook, Lori Poss- School Bookkeeper, Brenda Rigney- Part Time Educational Assistant, Tonya Roberts- Educational Assistant, Debra Rowland- Educational Assistant, Peggy Sutton- Educational Assistant, Thomas Trammell- Custodian, Tammy Tyler- Cook, Tom Vaughn- Cook, Annie Walker- Educational Assistant, Celia Whaley- Educational Assistant,

Northside Elementary:

Vickey Atnip- Educational Assistant, Clay Bumbalough- Custodian, Suzanne Bradford- Educational Assistant, Cindy Childers- Educational Assistant, Trent Colwell- Educational Assistant, Betty Cooper-Cook, Heather Cornelius- Educational Assistant, Gail Crips- Secretary, Ervil Cubbins- Educational Assistant, Regina Daw- Cafeteria Manager, Rebecca Ervin- Cook, Starr Ferrell-Educational Assistant, Phyllis Hallum- Educational Assistant, Sherry Judkins- Cook, Thelma Martin- Educational Assistant, Denise Merriman-Cook, Angie Moore-Educational Assistant, Lynn Pichey-Custodian, Mary Edmonds- ESL Assistant, Jo Dean Redmon- Lunch Monitor, Linda Sorrell- Educational Assistant, Diane Trapp- School Bookkeeper, and Kim Violet- Custodian,

DeKalb West School:

Holly Bain-Educational Assistant, Betty Boss- Educational Assistant, Brenda Beth Cantrell-Educational Assistant, Donna Driver- Cook, Dorothy Duggin-Custodian, Tena Edwards- Educational Assistant, Pauline Frazier- Custodian, Mattie (Ruth) Frazier-Custodian, Shelly Gibson- Educational Assistant, Lisa Hale- Educational Assistant, Donna Hale- School Bookkeeper, Shelby Ann Jennings- Educational Assistant, Nancy Mulloy- Cook, Faye Nixon-Cook, Kristi Sullivan- Educational Assistant, Roenia Turner- Half Time Library Assistant and Lunch Room Monitor, Jalene Vanatta- Secretary, Linda Vickers- Cook and Georgia Young-Cafeteria Manager.

County Wide Positions:

Chandra Adcock- School Nurse, Jenean Bain- Bus Assistant, Benita Byars- School Nurse, Bettye June Dodd- Bus Assistant, Sharon Farler- Substitute School Nurse, Brandy Fitts- Substitute Bus Assistant, Greg Frasier-Computer Technician, Melissa Fuson- Substitute School Nurse, Theresa Garrison- Part-time Occupational Therapist, Billy Golden- Maintenance Worker, Rhonda Harpole- Library Assistant -half time at Smithville Elementary School and half time at Northside Elementary School, Terry Hicks- Maintenance Worker, Earl Jared- Maintenance Supervisor, Freda Johnson- Bus Assistant, Mary Joines- Bus Assistant, Eddy Roy Judkins- Maintenance Worker, Teresa Miller- Payroll/Bookkeeper Central Office, Tera Mooneyham- English as a Second Language (ESL) Assistant, Brad Mullinax- Technology Director, Jean Neal-Bus Assistant, Shirley Ours- Special Education Secretary, April Patterson- Attendance Clerk, Melissa Pirtle- Food Service Bookkeeper, Elizabeth Redmon- Educational Assistant CW, Jo Dean Redmon- Part Time Custodian- Brian Reed- Alternative School Assistant, Joyce Robinson- Payroll/Bookkeeper Central Office, Teresa Sullivan- Educational Assistant at DeKalb Middle School and DeKalb West School, Ricky Todd- Substitute Custodian, Peggy Tramel- Substitute Cafeteria Worker, Kimberly Turner- School Nurse, Barbara Vanatta- Substitute Cafeteria Worker, Jamie Vickers- Secretary/Bookkeeper Central Office, Jeanette Young- Substitute Cafeteria Worker, and Rita Young-Attendance Clerk at Northside Elementary and Smithville Elementary School.


Shane Cook- Transportation Supervisor, James Wilkerson- Mechanic, and Peggy Pursell- Part Time Secretary.

The following are bus drivers:

Harold Ashford, Karen Adkins, Dwayne Cantrell, Dwayne Cornelius, Dinah Cripps, Debbie Eaton, Julie Fayette, Marshall Ferrell, Starr Ferrell, Linda Fowler, Bill Fowler, Lynn Griffith, Judith Hale, Melissa Hicks, Kimberly Lawson, Angela Lawson, Bobby Martin, Ronald Merriman, Jimmy Mullican, Gregory Muskopf, Linda Gail Pack, Walter Phillips, Faye Pollard, Jimmy Poss, Tony Poss, Peggy Pursell, J.T. Pursell,, Bobby Taylor, Mark Violet, and Suzanne Williams.
Substitute bus drivers are: Danny Bond, Wallace Caldwell, Michael Kingsbury, Daniel Lawson, Christina Tacy, and Gordon Williams.

Others employed for the 2007-08 school year include Amanda Beckwith, Jennifer Judkins, and Amy Fletcher as substitute teachers, Joanie Williams as a substitute school nurse, and Denise Rutland as a part-time janitor at DCHS.

Daniel Johnson has resigned as a part-time custodian at DCHS.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree