FBLA Students Win Regional and State Awards

May 13, 2008
Dwayne Page

Members of the DeKalb County High School's Future Business Leaders of America Club brought home awards from Regional and State Competitions this year.

The Regional competition was held March 6 at Cumberland University and all of the local
students placed in the top five of their competitions, making them eligible to compete at the State Competitions held in April. All students went beyond their assigned competition and
took some "open" event tests.

At the State Competitions in Chattanooga, local students competed against 1,871 students from all counties in Tennessee.

Luke Willoughby was elected State Vice-President for the 2008-2009 school year, and will represent Tennessee and DeKalb County at the National FBLA Conference in Atlanta in June.

Also this year, a DeKalb County student, John Malone, is the recipient of the Cumberland
University FBLA Scholarship.

At the Regional Competitions, the local winners are as follows:

April Martin- Region 5 Business Person of the Year
Brooke Pack- Hospitality & Tourism Management- 1st place
Dustin Hood, Jared Adams, and Tyler Cantrell- Entrepreneurship Team- 1st place
Josh Cantrell- Personal Finance- 1st place
Justin Duke- Technology Concepts and Computer Operating Systems- 1st place
Megan Pack- Business Communications- 1st place
Ryan Dodd- CISCO-1st place
Tia Menix- Word Processing II-1st place
Travis Woodward- Region 5 Who's Who- 1st place
Austin Garrett- Leadership- 2nd place
Dustin Jennings- Hospitality & Tourism Management-2nd place
Jared Adams- Sports Marketing & Management- 2nd place
Kelly Merriman- Business Calculations- 2nd place
Martha Webb- Word Processing I- 2nd place
Ryan Dodd- Introduction to Business- 2nd place
Travis Woodward- Mr. FBLA
Colton Rhody- Ethics and Business Law- 3rd place
Dustin Jennings- Business Calculations- 3rd place
Grant James- Introduction to Business Communication-3rd place
Justin Lattimore- Personal Finance- 3rd place
Nick Goff and Reeves Beller- Global Business- 3rd place
Tia Menix- Hospitality & Tourism Management-3rd place
Tiffani Scott- Word Processing II- 4th place
Tyler Woods- Economics- 4th place
Austin Garrett- Accounting I- 5th place
Nick Goff- Hospitality & Tourism Management- 6th place
Justin Lattimore- Sports Marketing & Management- 7th place
Tyler Woods-Sports Marketing & Management-8th place

Winners at the state competition are as follows:

Casey Curtis- Cyber Security- 4th place
Dustin Hood & Tyler Cantrell- Entreprenuership-4th place
Tia Menix-Word Processing I- 4th place
Travis Woodward- Mr. FBLA- 4th place
Josh Cantrell- Personal Finance- 6th place
Dustin Jennings- Business Calculations- 7th place
Justin Lattimore- Personal Finance- 7th place
Justin Duke- Technology Concepts- 10th place

Chapter Awards:
Local Chapter Annual Business Report- prepared by Advisors- 2nd place
Local Electronic Scrapbook- prepared by Brooke Pack/Shay Sullivan- 6th place
Community Service Project-prepared by Josh Cantrell, Jessica Paschal, and Justin Lattimore-7th place
Gold Seal Chapter Award of Merit-criteria met

Travis Woodward was recognized as a Mr. FBLA nominee from Region 5. Woodward is also the Region 5 Who's Who in FBLA.
Luke Willoughby was elected State Vice-President of Tennessee FBLA for 2008-09 and is a Who's Who in FBLA.
John Malone was awarded a $2,000 renewable scholarship from Cumberland University.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree