Sandy Brown Seeks GOP Nomination for DeKalb County Assessor of Property

November 3, 2007
Dwayne Page

Local business woman Sandy C. Brown will be a candidate for the Republican nomination for Assessor of Property.

Brown made her announcement Saturday morning during the DeKalb County Republican Party Mass meeting, held at the courthouse. "It's been four years, I think folks know me a little bit better now. I'm a member of Webb's Methodist Church. I have my own business. I've been to the classes for Assessor. I still have the contacts out there but I will need your support folks. It's not going to be the same race as last time. Frankly, I don't have the wherewithal to throw that kind of cash into it and I need your input. Get in touch with me and let me know what you'd like to see me do and what you want me to do."

Brown, who ran unsuccessfully for Assessor of Property in August 2004, is the owner and operator of Tennessee Barn Builders/SCB Enterprises on Highway 70 West.

Meanwhile, incumbent Second District Constable Reed Edge announced his intention to seek re-election. "I'm married to Sonya Edge and we've got four little girls. It's been my privilege to serve you for the last eight years as constable and I'd like to keep on representing you. With the help of the Republican Party and everybody else in DeKalb County, I can do that. I'd like to thank Sheriff Patrick Ray for letting the constables have a more active part in helping with the welfare of this county. I sure would appreciate all the help you can give me."

Delegates to the DeKalb County Republican Party Convention were selected from each of the seven districts Saturday morning and those delegates will convene on Saturday, November 17th at 9:00 a.m. at the courthouse to formally nominate GOP candidates to run for Assessor of Property and Constable in the August, 2008 DeKalb County General Election.

The following persons were selected as delegates:
District 1: Mason Carter, Richard Winfree, Jennifer Winfree and Alternate- Sheelie Askew
District 2: Don Adamson, Charles Robinson, Bobby Joines, Jerry Childress, Donny Green and Alternate- Clarence Davenport
District 3: Vester Parsley, Randy Caplinger, Walter Burton, George Lafever, J.C.. Carter, and Jim Dean
District 4: Jama Todd, Pat Witt, Taft Hendrixson, Bertha McBride, Joe Collins, and Joan Draper
District 5: Natalie Green, Barbara Vandergriff, Burnace Vandergriff, William O. Green, Kiki Brown, U.L. Lafever and Alternate- Larry Green
District 6: Dennis Stanley, Roy Ray, Tracy Ray, Grady Ray and Alternates Melvin Ray, Bruce Parsley, and Donna Stanley
District 7: Todd Lassiter, James Cantrell, Misty Lassiter, Johnny Lattimore, and John Parker

DeKalb County voters will be electing an Assessor of Property and a constable from each of the seven districts in the county during the General Election next August.

The Democratic nominees for these offices will be chosen in the DeKalb County Democratic Primary on February 5th.

All persons, Democrats, Republicans, and Independents, have until noon December 13th to become qualified to run.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree