Ria Baker Appointed Mayor of Alexandria

September 25, 2007
Dwayne Page

Alexandria has a new mayor.

Ria Baker was appointed by the Alexandria Aldermen Tuesday night to fill the remaining two years of former Mayor Clara Lee Vantrease's unexpired term.

Vantrease was elected Mayor in September, 2005 but resigned the following summer, citing personal reasons. The Alexandria Aldermen then appointed fellow Alderman David Cripps to serve as Mayor,

Cripps announced earlier this year that he would be stepping down in September.

Baker was sworn into office by City Judge Brody Kane.

Kane also administered the oath of office to the newly elected Aldermen, Maureen Tubbs, Derrick Baker, and Shelia Clayborn. They succeed the retiring aldermen, Jimmy Mullinax, James Keys, and Jim York, all of whom were serving unexpired terms of others who had previously resigned.

Meanwhile, Alderman Sarah Walker, who was not present last night, has also resigned. Outgoing Mayor Cripps read a brief written statement from Walker, who stated that she was stepping down, effective September 4th, for personal reasons.

The Aldermen, later in the meeting, re- appointed James Keys to serve out Walker's unexpired term. He was sworn into office by City Attorney Vester Parsley, Jr.

Parsley was appointed city attorney to succeed Watertown lawyer Robin Vance-Kent, who announced her resignation earlier this summer. Last night was apparently her last meeting with the city board.

The make up of the Mayor and Board of Aldermen now includes Mayor Ria Baker and Aldermen Charles Griffith, Eddie Tubbs, Maureen Tubbs, Derrick Baker, Shelia Clayborn, and James Keys.

The board plans to begin work soon on updating it's 1935 city charter with the help of Don Darden of the Municipal Technical Advisory Service as well as adopting a new municipal code. After the meeting, city leaders said many ordinances have gone missing in recent years and can't be located.

Meanwhile, the Alexandria Christmas Parade has been scheduled for Saturday, December, 8th at 1:00 p.m.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
Email: wjle@dtccom.net
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree