Garrison Unseats Cantrell In DTC Director Election

September 16, 2006
Dwayne Page

Ronald Garrison defeated three other challengers including incumbent Paul Cantrell to win the Smithville Exchange seat on the DTC Communications Board of Directors in Saturday's election.

Garrison received a total of 444 votes, edging out Cantrell who had 409 votes. Vester Parsley, Jr. garnered 279 votes and Freddy N. Colvert picked up 117 votes.

A total of 1,268 members voted in the DTC Directors Election including 917 early voters and 351 on election day (Saturday).

Incumbent Liberty Exchange Director Randy Campbell received a total of 807 complimentary votes and Incumbent Alexandria Exchange Director Bennie Curtis had 791 complimentary votes. Both Campbell and Curtis were unopposed.

All three directors elected Saturday will serve for three years.

Here's how the votes break down for each candidate at the four early voting locations and on election day:

Ronald Garrison: Smithville- 179, Alexandria- 88, Woodbury- 30, Gordonsville- 7, Election Day- 140

Paul Cantrell: Smithville- 200, Alexandria- 19, Woodbury- 56, Gordonsville- 18, Election Day- 116

Vester Parsley, Jr.: Smithville- 190, Alexandria- 19, Woodbury- 14, Gordonsville-5, Election Day- 51

Freddy N. Colvert: Smithville, 68, Alexandria- 5, Woodbury- 7, Gordonsville- 4, Election Day- 33.

The DTC Communications Board of Directors, in addition to Garrison, Campbell, and Curtis, include Terry McPeak of Norene, Charles Dwight Vinson of Milton, Robert Don Malone of Temperance Hall, Greg Rogers of Woodbury, Roy Nelson Pugh of Auburntown, David Parker of Woodland, and James Dillard, Jr. of Gordonsville.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree