Crymes Named DeKalb County

January 20, 2007
Dwayne Page

The DeKalb County Volunteer Fire Fighters held their annual banquet Saturday night and honored several of their own.

Billy Crymes of the Short Mountain Station was named the \"2006 Firefighter of the Year\" while Jamie Sherrell of the Temperance Hall Station was awarded as the \"2006 Rookie Firefighter of the Year\". Meanwhile, the Git R Done Award went to Jeremy Neal of the Blue Springs Station.

Chief Donny Green says the Firefighter of the Year and Rookie Firefighter were chosen based upon their hours of training and work detail. Crymes accumulated 154.5 hours of service and dedication to the fire department in 2006 and Sherrell put in 118.5 hours. The Git R Done Award is presented to the firefighter who did the most above and beyond the call of duty for the fire department.

Green presented several length of service awards. Those receiving five year service pins were Jeff Bogle, Kevin Curtis, Jason Rice, Daniel Summers, Elmore Judd, Tony Thomas, and Chris Tramel.

Howard Pyles and David Agee, who were absent, will receive ten year service pins.

Mike Cleland, who was absent, will be presented a fifteen year service pin.

Chief Donny Green was awarded for 20 years of service and Johnny King, who was absent, was recognized for 30 years as a county volunteer fire fighter.

Green also received a special award from his fellow firefighters for his leadership as chief since 1994 and for his work in helping to secure grants and other projects for the betterment of the county fire department

Wayne Adcock, a long time member of the fire department, received an \"Honorary Lifetime Membership.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree