Bass and Foutch Receive Allen D. Hooper Memorial MVP Basketball Awards

March 30, 2007
Dwayne Page

DeAndre Bass and Kelsey Foutch received the Allen D. Hooper Memorial Most Valuable Player Awards during the annual DeKalb County High School Basketball banquet held Thursday night at Elizabeth Chapel Baptist Church.

The MVP trophies were presented by Chad Kirby of Love-Cantrell Funeral Home. The awards are named in memory of Kirby's grandfather.

Kirby also presented the Allen D. Hooper Memorial Most Valuable Cheerleader Award to Amber Evans.

Tiger Coach Lynus Martin presented the individual awards to members of his team. This year's winners are:

Best 6th Man- Hunter Stewart
Most Improved Player- J.J. Herriott
Best Practice Player- Zach Rowland
Smartest Player- John Malone
Hustle Award, Best Athlete, Best Passer, and Best Ball Handler- Travis Woodward
Best Offensive Player, Best Defender, Best Rebounder, Tiger Charge Award, and MVP- DeAndre Bass.
Best Attitude- Thomas Hale
Best Free Throw Shooter- Keith Johnson

The individual Lady Tiger Awards were presented by Coach Amy Tobitt. This year's winners are:

Best Practice Player and Best Attitude- Victoria Bennett
Best Defender- Kayla Fish
Best Rebounder- Crystal Street
Most Improved Player and Best 6th Man- Lauren Hansard
Hustle Award- Kelsey Foutch
Best Athlete and Best Offensive Player- Katie Herman
MVP-Kelsey Foutch

Cheerleader Coach Walteen Parker presented the individual cheerleading awards. This year's winners are:

Most Improved- Amanda Ours
Captain Award-Courtney Rhody
Tiger Spirit-Courtney Rhody
MVP- Amber Evans
Dance-Amber Evans
Jump- Lacey Parchman
Stunt: Spot- Lacey Parchman
Stunt:Base- Alison Curtis
Stunt:Flyer- Heather Luna

One year cheerleading awards went to Caroline Carter, Kendra Foutch, and Amanda Ours. Two year awards were presented to Rosemary Apple, Jessica Cook, Alison Curtis, Brittnee Linn, Heather Luna, and Mindy Mofield. Three year awards went to Amber Evans and Lacey Parchman, and a Four Year Award was presented to Courtney Rhody.

Follow Us


News Feed

WJLE Radio

2606 McMinnville Hwy
Smithville, TN 37166
Phone: 615 597-4265
FAX: 615 597-6025
WJLE AM FCC Public File
WJLE FM FCC Public File

Local News

6:30 A.M.
7:30 A.M.
8:55 A.M.
12:00 NOON
4:00 P.M.
9:45 P.M.

DTC Communications

Fiddlers Jamboree